Compare Two Binary Search Trees

Question

I have been trying to figure out a way to compare two Binary Search Trees without multi-threading or any other such parallel computing means. The goal is to test the equivalence of two Binary Search Trees.

The definition of equivalence here is that the number of nodes must be same, and values contained in the two trees must be equal.

For example, see the attached image for two equivalent trees. Now, how would you test the equivalence of these programmatically?

One method I know of is to traverse the tree using any of the traversal methods - Inorder, Preorder, Postorder, etc. and then compare the results with the other tree's. One may even use a BFS or DFS algorithm.

Any other more efficient ways you can think of doing this?

PS: I am NOT in school. This is NOT a homework assignment. I graduated 3 years ago and I am brushing up on data structures. So please keep an open mind. Thanks!

post-47097-1258666711.png

9 answers to this question

it seems that what you really want to know is if they both contain the same nodes since the tree structure can be slightly different and still be balanced.

if you have or can keep a node count in your object that is updated as you add and remove nodes, you could use this as your first check to see if the trees are not equal. if both trees dont have the same number of nodes then you know they're not the same search trees. but having the same node count doesnt mean they are equal, so you can only use node counts to more quickly determine that they're not equal.