Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 DigiM29

DigiM29

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-December 08

Posted 12 April 2010 - 08:00

EDIT 3/31/2011: Jumplist Extender v0.4 is released! See the website for changes and the download.

EDIT 3/20/2011: The old Jump List Extender website has gone down indefinitely. See the Google Code page for general information, and click here to download the latest version. If you're running on another language besides English, see this page for information on how to make this program work. I no longer work on this project.

EDIT: Want some Jumplist Packs to get started? See Post #21 for downloads and screenshots!

Jumplist Extender is an easy-to-use utility that lets you add custom jumplists to any of your programs on Windows 7!
Posted Image
With Jumplist Extender, you can:

Add your own Program Tasks
You can add any action you want on your jumplist, provided it has a keyboard shortcut to your program. Make easy-to-access jumplist items for your everyday tasks! (Works with command line switches, too!)

Pin Any Type of File
Add ANY file and ANY folder to your jumplist -- and even rename them on the list! Windows only allows you to add files assigned to (or "openable by") the program -- Extender bypasses that limitation.

Create Extensions to your Programs
Use AutoHotKey scripting to extend and add functionality to your programs, easily accessible from your own jumplist! Add a "Save to Desktop Notes" function to Notepad, or add "Snip and upload to ImageShack" to Snipping Tool!

Share your Jumplists with Others
Export and import your jumplists into "Jumplist Packs"! Upload your Jumplist Pack to the web, and enable others to download and enjoy your work!

Download (v0.3)
JumplistExtender_v0.4.exe (1.6MB)
GPLv3 Source: TaskbarExtenderSrc_v0.4.exe (1.3MB)
Contributions
Find a bug? Be sure to send them my way! Reply to the topic, or send mail to digimarco35@yahoo.com!

Jumplist Extender v0.4 is relatively stable, but expect bugs! Regardless, any notifications sent my way are appreciated!


#2 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 12 April 2010 - 08:01

Sounds awesome. Interested for sure!

#3 Co_Co

Co_Co

    g status

  • Joined: 26-July 04
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 12 April 2010 - 08:03

looks really really good. i would definitely use this for Firefox if possible

#4 RoomKid

RoomKid

    Banned

  • Joined: 12-October 09
  • Location: on my chair in front of the computer

Posted 12 April 2010 - 08:03

Great dude, looking forward to it.

#5 Sikh

Sikh

    Neowin Addict!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-March 07
  • Location: localhost
  • OS: Windows 7 / 10.8 / Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Nexus 5 PA 4.4.2 / iPhone 5

Posted 12 April 2010 - 08:06

Good work man. Keep it up. This would be very handy.

#6 OP DigiM29

DigiM29

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-December 08

Posted 12 April 2010 - 14:51

Thanks for the kind responses :)

Truthfully, the configuration window is taking me forever and a day, but the engine itself is almost done. I could possibly release an EXE next weekend that accepts a manually-edited jumplist XML and applies it for you! I hope that will tide some folks over?

#7 macf13nd

macf13nd

    collapsing like a flan in a cupboard

  • Joined: 26-March 03
  • Location: W London, UK

Posted 12 April 2010 - 16:06

Thanks for the kind responses :)

Truthfully, the configuration window is taking me forever and a day, but the engine itself is almost done. I could possibly release an EXE next weekend that accepts a manually-edited jumplist XML and applies it for you! I hope that will tide some folks over?


+1 interested.

#8 Pallab

Pallab

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-August 04
  • Location: India

Posted 13 April 2010 - 18:06

Drop me a PM when you release the software. I will love to use it and review it for my blog.

#9 OP DigiM29

DigiM29

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-December 08

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:04

@Co_Co: Regarding Firefox, you totally can :) Works nicely, too!

Posted Image

@Pallab: Thanks for the offer -- and when Jumplist Extender becomes stable, I'll PM you.

---

I did some great work on Jumplist Extender (J7E) today, and it's coming together really nicely! I hope to release an "alpha" within a week or two -- perfectly functional, but the config may throw exceptions, crash, etc., if a user goes beyond expected boundaries. It's stuff that I can handle, but to have an influx of bug reports coming in would be extremely helpful with knowing what needs fixing, stuff like that.

#10 david

david

    Android Aficionado

  • Joined: 10-June 02
  • Location: Dallas Texas
  • OS: Windows 8.1; Android 4.4.4; Android L; Chrome OS
  • Phone: Nexus 5 // Mahdi // Code_Blue

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:09

Looking forward to a release! (Y)

#11 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:11

This will be more work for you probably but,

I think you should also make your application be able to edit jumplists as well. Once Firefox supporst jumplists for example, they will have there own, we should be able to remove and add stuff to it. (unless it already does that)

Nice work, can't wait!

#12 san.W10

san.W10

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-March 08

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:18

wow, this is awesome app. you're working on.

i always wanted something like this for notepad, office 2010, tuneup utility 2010... :D

looking forward for the release :)

#13 OP DigiM29

DigiM29

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-December 08

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:31

Man, you guys are quick :) @Bman: Yeah, existing jumplists are replaceable -- not sure about editable, though, but yes I definitely agree that it would be helpful. I'll look into that soon.

---

Anyways, I did some great work on Jumplist Extender (J7E) today, and it's coming together really nicely! I hope to release an "alpha" here within a week or two -- perfectly functional jumplist'ing, but the config may throw exceptions, crash, etc., if a user goes beyond expected boundaries. To have an influx of bug reports would be extremely helpful with knowing what needs fixing, stuff like that.

As far as a preview goes:

Posted Image

J7E allows you to specify File/Folders and automatic Keyboard Shortcuts, Command Lines, and AutoHotKey scripts to add to your jumplists. On a basic level, I feel that most program functions can be reached via keyboard shortcut (e.g. pressing Ctrl+O in Notepad or Word will open a file,) or a command line switch (e.g. firefox.exe -new-tab, or foobar2000.exe /playpause.) AutoHotKey scripting is available for advanced users.

I could think of more specialized options, but these four are the most global towards all programs.

My own usage proves that jumplists come really handy, when used the right way! E.g. In MS OneNote, I often have to switch between typing and pen writing, but it totally cripples my flow to search for the two buttons. However, jumplists make it easier to just flick up the list and select what I need!

Due to how jumplists are designed, J7E has to run as a background app to assign windows to their jumplists. That's okay -- Winfox had to run in the background, too, to do the same thing for Firefox. Anyways, alpha hopefully coming soon.

#14 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:36

I do have to say, I hate extra stuff running. Though I know it's the only way for this.

#15 OP DigiM29

DigiM29

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-December 08

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:45

Me too. I tried thinking of non-background app solutions, but they involve ugly stuff like code injecting. Or maybe I haven't looked hard enough...

But technically, you don't really need to have J7E running in the background. When you start a program from its pinned shortcut, then it will have the jumplist automatically, without needing J7E to assign it. The problem is that when a user opens a new window some other way (e.g. clicking "Open New Window" in Firefox's menu,) then that window won't have any jumplist, and it shows as a second taskbar button. It's weird; that's why I have J7E looking for new windows.

The good news is that you can leave J7E off, if you know what you're doing :) But it beseeches me to find a more streamlined solution there.