Jump to content



Photo

How can I make my laptop a "wireless repeater"?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 alfaaqua

alfaaqua

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 10

Posted 20 June 2010 - 19:31

I want to make my router connect to my laptop and have the laptop be a simple repeater so PC x can get a better signal. How can I configure my laptop to do that?


#2 Guest_xiphi_*

Guest_xiphi_*
  • Joined: --

Posted 20 June 2010 - 19:38

If it's running 7, sure. http://connectify.me/

#3 OP alfaaqua

alfaaqua

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 10

Posted 21 June 2010 - 03:31

If it's running 7, sure. http://connectify.me/

Hmm I need something that supports access point mode, not ad-hoc mode

#4 Guest_xiphi_*

Guest_xiphi_*
  • Joined: --

Posted 21 June 2010 - 04:14

Um, connectify can be either or.

#5 OP alfaaqua

alfaaqua

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 10

Posted 21 June 2010 - 04:43

Um, connectify can be either or.

Impossible here.

#6 Guest_xiphi_*

Guest_xiphi_*
  • Joined: --

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:07

Impossible here.

What do you mean by impossible? Are you not running Windows 7? If not, then I'm afraid you won't be able to turn your laptop into a WiFi to extend a wireless signal.

#7 basques

basques

    hentai otaku

  • Joined: 22-October 03
  • Location: Melbourne

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:14

xiphi is right, if you are running windows 7, after installing connectify your wireless devices will be able to see your laptop as a hotspot. They must support wpa2 as far as I know though.

#8 OP alfaaqua

alfaaqua

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 10

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:16

What do you mean by impossible? Are you not running Windows 7? If not, then I'm afraid you won't be able to turn your laptop into a WiFi to extend a wireless signal.

Obviously, I am running Windows 7 :p

And, besides that software, there has to be another way. Windows 7 isnt god or anything...

xiphi is right, if you are running windows 7, after installing connectify your wireless devices will be able to see your laptop as a hotspot. They must support wpa2 as far as I know though.

I see it as a hotspot in ad-hoc mode not access point mode. I need access point mode.

#9 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:23

Obviously, I am running Windows 7 :p

And, besides that software, there has to be another way. Windows 7 isnt god or anything...


I see it as a hotspot in ad-hoc mode not access point mode. I need access point mode.

Your card may not support access point mode. Check whether it is listed as incompatable on the Connectify website.

#10 OP alfaaqua

alfaaqua

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 10

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:27

Your card may not support access point mode. Check whether it is listed as incompatable on the Connectify website.

If it is not supported, what other method could I use?

I really dont need it in access mode and I have 2 wireless cards; If I could set one to recieve and the other to send (like a repeater) thats fine.

#11 Guest_xiphi_*

Guest_xiphi_*
  • Joined: --

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:32

Look here to see if it's supported, http://connectify.me...ortedcards.html

I use my Dell Inspiron E1505 to have my Zune HD get a connection in the area I work at. Laptop can pick up a very weak signal, but the Zune can't. So, this really comes in handy.

If it is not supported, what other method could I use?

I really dont need it in access mode and I have 2 wireless cards; If I could set one to recieve and the other to send (like a repeater) thats fine.

Have you tried ICS (Internet connection sharing)? I'm not sure if it would work with Wireless cards or not.

#12 OP alfaaqua

alfaaqua

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 10

Posted 28 June 2010 - 05:21

Have you tried ICS (Internet connection sharing)? I'm not sure if it would work with Wireless cards or not.

But one of the cards would still have to allow other devices to be connected to it.

#13 Jeremy Mansfield

Jeremy Mansfield

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 27-September 12

Posted 27 September 2012 - 12:22

Actually... if you have two wireless cards you could set one up to connect to the router/modem and make the other one a hotspot... then go to network and sharing centre, on the left click adapter settings, hold ctrl and click both adapters, let go of ctrl with the adapters still selected, and right click one and click bridge connections... this only works if you use win7