Jump to content



Photo

Don't like the opera menu button?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 11 April 2011 - 04:20

As many of you probably know, in linux the red opera menu button looks horrible to say the least, which is why I made a skin to make it similar to chrome's menu button. I just read one of the comments on my skin and he found a far easier way to do this, no skin required:

Service for creating custom buttons ==> http://home.wanadoo....ra/buttons.html
go to step 3 and copy/paste this text:

Show popup menu, "Browser Button Menu Bar",,,"Panel Widgets"

push "Create Button"
Enjoy


Very useful if you are running opera in linux, or want less vertical space in windows (after adding this button, right click the red menu button > customize > placement "off" to remove it. To utilize the vertical space where the button was open opera:config and search for "Chrome Integration Drag Area" and lower it from the default 20 to your liking)

To remove the original menu button you need to right click it > customize > appearence > and change placement from "top" to off.

screen:
12 AM.png


#2 Z-Bot

Z-Bot

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-October 10

Posted 12 April 2011 - 01:23

Here is a more correct code:

Show popup menu,"Browser Button Menu Bar",,Menu,"Panel Widgets"

now button have a tooltip

or this, without dropdown marker:

Show hidden popup menu,"Browser Button Menu Bar",,Menu,"Panel Widgets"

p.s google translate

#3 javagreen

javagreen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 04

Posted 04 August 2012 - 21:11

This doesn't work with the latest Opera 12 on Linux. I can still addthe custom button, but the 'O' top menubar icon is unremovable... it's unselectable in options :(

#4 OP ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 21 August 2012 - 05:51

This doesn't work with the latest Opera 12 on Linux. I can still addthe custom button, but the 'O' top menubar icon is unremovable... it's unselectable in options :(


Still works fine here. To remove the menu button you need to right click it > customize > appearence > and change placement from "top" to off. I'll edit the OP with this instruction :)

Screenshot from 2012-08-21 01:49:16.png