[PC] Frontlines

frontlines.jpg

Frontlines™: Fuel of War™

Kaos Studios/THQ, 2008

Single Player / Campaign.

I first want to start off by stating that I am no professional reviewer and thus I probably will suck at doing it. Now onto the game. I was not really expecting much out of this game since I didn't know anything about it. It came out and that was the first I heard of it. Yet people started talking about it here at Neowin and I said hey what the hell and I went and paid for it on Steam. Which at 12GB downloading off Steam it went pretty fast, I finished downloading it and had it running under 6 hours. The whole game was interesting and fun as hell. The graphics were really good, not COD4 level, but not that far off. Same with the game play. I actually found the game play of Frontlines to be more intense and got me more into the storyline and battlefield. I felt like holy crap I am in the middle of this crazy war.

Now I did find the Single Player to be quite short. There are only 8 or so levels, yet each one was intense and objective filled. You can pick the "hardness" of the game between Casual, Normal, and Hardcore, and Hardcore being the hardest setting of the game. I was playing the game on the easiest setting and I was still getting my butt kicked. Now that might be because I suck but who knows. It was hard at times but at the same time it was the good kind of hard, as in it is challenging you to be better. I really enjoyed learning how to beat each level, which didn't take long. The shooting system in this game is hard to get used to at first, but once you do its genius. I don't know how to explain it but it makes you really learn a skill of shooting. No one can really just go in there and be good, you have to really be good. You will see what I mean when you play the game.