Jump to content



Photo

Orbital Sciences Antares & Cygnus spacecraft


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#61 OP DocM

DocM

    Neowinian Senior

  • 15,705 posts
  • Joined: 31-July 10
  • Location: Michigan

Posted 09 January 2014 - 16:11

Uh-oh....

1552 GMT (10:52 a.m. EST)

A red team is being prepared to enter the launch pad to investigate the liquid oxygen leak. The launch team has paused pressurization of the gaseous nitrogen system, and officials are donning proper safety gear to enter the pad.




#62 OP DocM

DocM

    Neowinian Senior

  • 15,705 posts
  • Joined: 31-July 10
  • Location: Michigan

Posted 09 January 2014 - 16:16

1608 GMT (11:08 a.m. EST)
The red team took a look at the small liquid oxygen leak on a ground maintenance line and found it was not dripping onto any important launch pad systems. The issue has been cleared and launch remains on schedule for 1:07 p.m. EST (1807 GMT).

The countdown was paused for about 3 minutes a few minutes ago as the launch team worked to resolve the issue. The time will be made up in a build-in hold in a few minutes.



#63 OP DocM

DocM

    Neowinian Senior

  • 15,705 posts
  • Joined: 31-July 10
  • Location: Michigan

Posted 09 January 2014 - 16:38

Webcast on UStream

http://ustream.tv/ch...nasa-tv-wallops

#64 Beittil

Beittil

    Neowinian

  • 143 posts
  • Joined: 06-August 13

Posted 09 January 2014 - 18:20

That was certainly a nice and clean launch + climb to orbit. Job well done by Orbital!



#65 OP DocM

DocM

    Neowinian Senior

  • 15,705 posts
  • Joined: 31-July 10
  • Location: Michigan

Posted 09 January 2014 - 18:23

http://spaceflightnow.com

Antares lifts off with Cygnus cargo ship bound for station

A commercial cargo ship has lifted off on a mission to the International Space Station. Liftoff of the Orbital Sciences Antares rocket from NASA's Wallops Flight Facility in Virginia occurred at 1:07 p.m. EST (1807 GMT), with arrival at the space station scheduled for Sunday.


09orb1launchquick_400x199.jpg



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!