Jump to content



Photo

First SimCity 5 screens and details surface

sim city 5 ea maxis can it be true?

  • Please log in to reply
176 replies to this topic

#166 F_C

F_C

    Neowinian

  • 140 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 09

Posted 16 February 2013 - 13:00

I pre-ordered it from Origin. Maybe that was my mistake :D


#167 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • 5,270 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 16 February 2013 - 13:01

I love sim city 5 i was in the beta , but the city size is too small. I city classified as "large city " is just over 100K population i believe. I want to make New York and London :p


The map sizes are perfect for NYC. I live on long island. NYC is a bunch of boroughs . Each city you build would technically be a borough of NYC. Manhattan would mostly be Commercial and sky scrapers, Westchester would mostly be residential, queens could be industrial.

I love sim city 5 i was in the beta , but the city size is too small. I city classified as "large city " is just over 100K population i believe. I want to make New York and London :p


The map sizes are perfect for NYC. I live on long island. NYC is a bunch of boroughs . Each city you build would technically be a borough of NYC. Manhattan would mostly be Commercial and sky scrapers, Westchester would mostly be residential, queens could be industrial.

#168 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • 10,072 posts
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 16 February 2013 - 13:56

Detroit--->graveyards and crack dens

#169 F_C

F_C

    Neowinian

  • 140 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 09

Posted 16 February 2013 - 13:57

Detroit--->graveyards and crack dens



I believe that's the name of the first DLC (Y)

#170 DrakeN2k

DrakeN2k

    Neowinian

  • 1,123 posts
  • Joined: 04-December 10

Posted 16 February 2013 - 14:03

The map sizes are perfect for NYC. I live on long island. NYC is a bunch of boroughs . Each city you build would technically be a borough of NYC. Manhattan would mostly be Commercial and sky scrapers, Westchester would mostly be residential, queens could be industrial.



The map sizes are perfect for NYC. I live on long island. NYC is a bunch of boroughs . Each city you build would technically be a borough of NYC. Manhattan would mostly be Commercial and sky scrapers, Westchester would mostly be residential, queens could be industrial.


That is true for sim city 4 but the map is different now there is now big green areas between each city in the region so that cant be done

#171 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • 5,270 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 16 February 2013 - 14:13

That is true for sim city 4 but the map is different now there is now big green areas between each city in the region so that cant be done


I know I was in the first beta. Why cant it be done? The first beta limited it to medium and low density. I had apartment buildings and multi level stores being built in my city. High density brings the skyscrapers and tall commercial . The game also lets you spread out things to other cities so that one region can take care of anothers garbage.

#172 Crisp

Crisp

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,260 posts
  • Joined: 06-May 10

Posted 16 February 2013 - 14:22

I lol'd at all the people who pre-ordered via Origin... you have more money than sense.

Amazon has the limited edition (Origin key) version for half the price of what it is on Origin.

#173 Boxster17

Boxster17

    Porsche Enthusiast

  • 1,676 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 04
  • Location: Halifax
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

Posted 16 February 2013 - 14:33

I lol'd at all the people who pre-ordered via Origin... you have more money than sense.

Amazon has the limited edition (Origin key) version for half the price of what it is on Origin.


It's listed at $59.99 on Origin and Amazon....

#174 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • 5,270 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 16 February 2013 - 14:41

I lol'd at all the people who pre-ordered via Origin... you have more money than sense.

Amazon has the limited edition (Origin key) version for half the price of what it is on Origin.


I preordered the dvd version of the game from amazon. I figured once the servers get shutdown it will be easier to make it not depend on the servers if you have an actual dvd.

#175 Crisp

Crisp

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,260 posts
  • Joined: 06-May 10

Posted 16 February 2013 - 14:50

It's listed at $59.99 on Origin and Amazon....


£30 - http://gameagency.co...72&currency=GBP

£30 - http://www.go2arena....__store=english

£32 - http://www.zavvi.com...es&affil=thggps

£33 - http://www.thegameco...edition-pc.html

£33 - http://2game.com/simcity

Origin - £65 - http://store.origin....ctID.246949500/

Sucks that you live in a country that's in debt and wants more of your money.

There was a listing on Amazon for the digital version (Origin key) 2 weeks ago that was at £30 and I'm sure play-sc will have it for £25 a week after release. Just like they did with Battlefail 3.

#176 Boxster17

Boxster17

    Porsche Enthusiast

  • 1,676 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 04
  • Location: Halifax
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro x64

Posted 16 February 2013 - 14:53

Sucks that you live in a country that's in debt and wants more of your money.


Pretty sure Canada has less debt than the UK, though I fail to see what that has to do with a video game price. Anyways your half price games there are almost what are full price game is so it's not that big of a deal then.

#177 +RageOfFury

RageOfFury

    AJ Lee/Alison Brie/JLH worshiper

  • 1,167 posts
  • Joined: 09-June 06
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 16 February 2013 - 15:03

It's listed at 59.99 on both Amazon.com (US) and Amazon.ca (Canada). Price of any new game in both countries. I don't see an issue here.

I'd much rather purchase a game from Amazon, Origin or Steam then from one of those shady looking European/Asian sites.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!