Jump to content



Photo

Possible to pin Steam Games to Startscreen?

win8 windows 8 steam startscreen pin pinning beta consumer preview

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:09

Is it possible to pin Steam Games to the startscreen? I have my most played games on the startscreen, however Steam will not allow me to pin Steam Games like Counter-Strike Source to the startscreen. I've tried making a shortcut and pinning that but it won't work.

Attached Images

  • Untitled.png



#2 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:14

I wouldn't see why not, they're basically just an internet shortcut that talks to steam

#3 OP McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:18

I wouldn't see why not, they're basically just an internet shortcut that talks to steam


Any idea how? I've tried to, but haven't figured out how yet.

#4 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:19

you can make a desktop shortcut then pin the desktop shortcut to startmenu, Its the only way i found so far.

#5 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:20

not sure, but there's a beta version of steam out right now, maybe they're working on something

why not check it out

#6 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:21

you can make a desktop shortcut then pin the desktop shortcut to startmenu, Its the only way i found so far.

that doesn't work with steam shortcuts, not even on windows 7 because they are basically internet shortcuts as far a windows is concerned

#7 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:23

ive done it myself before :s. Just tight click the game go to properties then create desktop shortcut. The right click shortcut and pin to start menu

#8 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:23

i mean right click

#9 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:25

yes, you can create desktop shortcuts for the games but you can't pin those shortcuts to the start menu

look at the picture in the OP, that's a shortcut on the desktop

also: there is an edit button you can use for spelling errors like that, no need to double post just to correct yourself

#10 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:29

ah found how i done it :). create shortcut. then drag and drop onto start button :) and there it is.

#11 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:33

ah found how i done it :). create shortcut. then drag and drop onto start button :) and there it is.

hmm, will that still work for windows 8 though, that's the true question here

we'll have to wait for the OP to try it

#12 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:35

if its windows 8 he wants it for, canty he just put the shortcut into the startmenu folder? where all the other shortcuts are?

#13 OP McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:35

ah found how i done it :). create shortcut. then drag and drop onto start button :) and there it is.


You realize Windows 8 has no start button?

#14 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:37

yh i didnt realize that its windows 8 u talking about until the other guy replied. but try pasting shortcut into start menu folder.

#15 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 05 April 2012 - 21:38

if its windows 8 he wants it for, canty he just put the shortcut into the startmenu folder? where all the other shortcuts are?


but he wants them pinned to the main part of the start screen, not just the all programs section

You realize Windows 8 has no start button?


the hot corner in the bottom left for the most part still works in the same way as the start orb, so yes it does