Jump to content



Photo

Show Us Your Server [2012]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
106 replies to this topic

#1 ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 04 May 2012 - 15:22

Inspired by the Show Us your Workstation Thread and this over at the Ubuntu Forums

Go forth....

http://ubuntuforums....t=334293&page=4


#2 zeta_immersion

zeta_immersion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-October 04
  • Location: Toronto

Posted 04 May 2012 - 15:43

Got a 4core Amd and 4x2T Raid 5 + 4x1T Raid 5, 08R2 for the house media - stoarege - pics/vids/programs what have you.

The smaller one is for trashing - downloads, RD, experimentation, foot rest and so on

Attached Images

  • IMG_20111226_101245.jpg
  • IMG_20111226_101345.jpg


#3 Kelxin

Kelxin

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-April 04

Posted 04 May 2012 - 15:47

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

My quick throw together of a windows server.

2 TB Sata 3 x 16 RAID'ed in mirrors, so 16TB usable space > http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148506

12GB DDR3 1600 > http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820233144

i7 2600k > http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819115070

Xigmatek Elysium case > http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811815012

MSI Z68 Motherboard > http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813130622

850 Watt Power > http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817171061

TPM with bitlocker 2048 bit encrypted

Highpoint 644 > http://www.newegg.co...N82E16816115078

External enclosure > http://www.newegg.co...N82E16816132016

If anyone is wondering why the space and the encryption, its because I have to frequently backup client's servers and many of them are covered by HIPA medical compliance or PCI credit compliance so I need to meet or exceed those standards.

#4 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 04 May 2012 - 15:56

Technically it is and isn't a server, but I have a Netgear NV+ RND4000 NAS:
Posted Image
Didnt want a PC running, wanted something small that has an embedded OS so wouldnt drain too much power as its on 24/7, has 4x 2Tb SAMSUNG HD204UI serving my (owned) Bluray/DVD Movie/TV Show ISOs around the house. One light is off because its blinking doing a disk check.

#5 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 04 May 2012 - 15:58

I don't have any pictures of my current server but I'll be doing upgrades on it later in the year and will definetly take some. However I do have some pictures I took when I built my old server back in 2010:

Posted Image

Posted Image

In the above pictures I'm using an AMD chip with 4GB of memory but my server right now has a Gigabyte UD5 Motherboard with a Core i7 920 and 24GB of Memory. I'm intending to upgrade it later in the year to a P6T6 WS a Core i7 940 and 48GB of memory. Basically the components I had in my desktop before I upgraded it earlier the other month

In the pictures above I'm using two HighPoint 2320 RAID cards (8 ports each) but I've since changed that setup to a HP SAS Expander and an LSI 9260 RAID card which offers 32 Ports. The case I've changed to a Lian Li PC-343B and I added 3 more backplanes to it for 30 hotswap bays at the front.

I'll take pictures in a few months of the newer rig I'm hoping to get the P6T6 in there and some new 4TB drives before the years up.

EDIT:// I found a picture on my drive of my current server after I changed the case and put the UD5-X58 and 24GB RAM in but before the HP SAS Expander and LSI RAID Card: (Sorry for the crappy camera phone picture!)

Posted Image

#6 Kelxin

Kelxin

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-April 04

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:01

Good god that case is full, lol.

#7 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:03

<snip/>


Old skool DFI LanParty FTW, haha.

#8 Miuku.

Miuku.

    A damned noob

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Finland, EU
  • OS: :: OS X :: SLES ::

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:06

Yes, I actually have all these at home (although 2 of them are co located currently) - HP servers from my old line of work - I no longer work in IT but I still have them (and yes, that's an old G series Mac keyboard on top of them plugged in - do I hear heresy? ;-) )

Posted Image

I'll take a snap from the Sun in the closet one of these days - it's actually quite cute (it's purple - kawaii! :huh: )

#9 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:06

Old skool DFI LanParty FTW, haha.


Yup! haha.

#10 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:07

Mine looks so ridiculously pathetic next to some of these :(

#11 Miuku.

Miuku.

    A damned noob

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Finland, EU
  • OS: :: OS X :: SLES ::

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:10

Mine looks so ridiculously pathetic next to some of these :(

It's hardly a contest - many of us have left over hardware from stuff we've done in the past and work we've been paid, ahem, "off the books".

As long as the hardware you have works for you and does the stuff you want, you should be happy :)

#12 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:13

Mine looks so ridiculously pathetic next to some of these :(


I think your NAS looks really cool dude.

#13 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:25

Mine looks so ridiculously pathetic next to some of these :(


Mine sucks to lol. I had the same intention as yourself. I wanted to build something that wouldn't be too much of a damage on the electric bill with it being left on 24/7.
I don't have any finished images of it, but you get the idea...

Posted Image

It's just an AsRock 350m1 running a Fusion E350 APU, 4GB OCz RAM and I now have x2 2TB, X1 500GB and a 20GB laptop drive for 2k3 in it.
All it's mainly used for is torrents / storage.

Also has a 500W OCz PSU... over kill :p

Edit: Oh and the case is a Lian Li PC-A04

#14 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:31

Mines the best, my super, all powerful 100Mbit reduced to 1/4 USB2.0 speeds NAS Samba Server

Posted Image

#15 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 04 May 2012 - 16:31

Mine sucks to lol. I had the same intention as yourself. I wanted to build something that wouldn't be too much of a damage on the electric bill with it being left on 24/7.
I don't have any finished images of it, but you get the idea...

<snip>

It's just an AsRock 350m1 running a Fusion E350 APU, 4GB OCz RAM and I now have x2 2TB, X1 500GB and a 20GB laptop drive for 2k3 in it.
All it's mainly used for is torrents / storage.

Also has a 500W OCz PSU... over kill :p

Edit: Oh and the case is a Lian Li PC-A04


Do you know how much power it pulls? I have an UPS connected to my server and it does about 220 Watts 24.7 - I'm interested to know what yours pulls I'd expect lower than 60 watts from the wall.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!