Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
155 replies to this topic

#76 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 10 January 2014 - 04:26

lol, this performance 'tweak' massively reduced my min fps in battlefield 4, no thanks.




#77 OP hardbag

hardbag

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-September 01

Posted 12 January 2014 - 17:57

HPET off in WIndows: Timers are not in sync:

Windows8RTCBugTestingV2_12.png

 

HPET on in Windows: Timers are in sync:

Windows8RTCBugTestingV2_13.png

 

 

There is a timer big in Win 7 & 8

http://www.ocaholic....php?itemid=1071

 

 

Because of a bug this deep, it's expected for software such as games and applications perform differently. So for to get the best result with application in question, one just has to benchmark, test and see.

 

The timer bug issue is real.



#78 Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 12 January 2014 - 18:20

I thought these "tweaks" were dying out.

 

This does absolutely nothing positive on anything I've tried it with.  At best it does nothing, at worst it makes the system completely unpredictable in terms of performance.

 

What are you going to tell us to do next? Go into msconfig and tell Windows to use multiple cores during boot?



#79 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 12 January 2014 - 19:04

I wouldn't take performance tips or suggestions from any source who's screenshots are using classic...



#80 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 12 January 2014 - 20:24

Timers story:

http://randomascii.w...gawatts-wasted/



#81 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 12 January 2014 - 21:18

He really misses the forest for the trees there. All of this wasted idle time accounts for only small fractions of energy in comparison to load times. I would hazard a guess that Idle loads make up 1-3% of the power budget of server farms and super computers. The focus in HPC has generally been on saving power during load times and reducing maximum power consumption because that's were you see obvious savings.

 

He also makes the same mistake that is being made in this thread: not testing for overhead in real workloads. You can't establish a relationship for %overhead in real loads by testing a toy benchmark. He's probably right that there is noticeable overhead from higher timers resolution in general, but he certainly isn't proving it .



#82 Nachbar

Nachbar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-January 14

Posted 30 January 2014 - 15:16

To test the impact of HPET specifically for my system I decided to use the Bioshock Infinite Benchmarking utility.

The reason being simply because I plan on playing this game.
In the tool I chose the options: (2) UltraDX11_DDOF, (2) Custom resolution, (1) 16:9, (4) 1920 x 1080
I ran the 5 tests in succession after first restarting the computer and verified the HPET settings were activated via WinTimerTester I then let the computer idle for 5 minutes.

My Operating system is: Windows 7 Pro x64
CPU: Core i5 3570K OC to 3.8GHz - CPU power saving features disabled so it runs at a constant 3.8GHz always.
Mobo: Asus P8z77-v pro (Note the LPCIO is a Nuvotron)
RAM: Gskill Sniper 2133 2x4GB
GPU: EVGA Nvidia Geforce 560Ti 1GB Crysis 2 edition

I read somewhere that Nuvotron timer on Asus boards perform worse than the regular timers - which is reflected below.

With HPET enabled in bios and useplatformclock yes: (WinTimerTester reports QPF 14.31818 MHz)
test 1 avg fps: 42.06 min: 13.34 max: 82.70
test 2 avg fps: 42.04 min: 17.39 max: 77.26
test 3 avg fps: 42.07 min: 15.40 max: 80.88
test 4 avg fps: 41.92 min: 13.98 max: 87.14
test 5 avg fps: 42.11 min: 16.25 max: 82.07
Total Average FPS: 42.04

With HPET disabled in bios and useplatformclock no: (WinTimerTester reports QPF 3.32038 MHz)
test 1 avg fps: 42.50 min: 15.48 max: 82.53
test 2 avg fps: 42.50 min: 11.54 max: 87.50
test 3 avg fps: 42.59 min: 18.49 max: 87.16
test 4 avg fps: 42.51 min: 15.68 max: 86.36
test 5 avg fps: 42.55 min: 19.99 max: 85.29
Total Average FPS: 42.53 (gain of 0.49 fps or 1%)

Interestingly, If I leave HPET enabled in BIOS and used bcdedit /deletevalue useplatformclock and reboot, WinTimerTester reports QPF to be 3.32037. FPS avg was 42.37.

When I used latencyMon to do latency tests this is what I got with HPET on and off:

HPET ON:

Highest measured interrupt to process latency (µs):   137.307954
Average measured interrupt to process latency (µs):   3.937589

Highest measured interrupt to DPC latency (µs):       72.285723
Average measured interrupt to DPC latency (µs):       1.535534

HPET Off:

Highest measured interrupt to process latency (µs):   78.304503
Average measured interrupt to process latency (µs):   1.111873

Highest measured interrupt to DPC latency (µs):       77.099818
Average measured interrupt to DPC latency (µs):       0.492777

both tests were done after letting the computer idle 10 minutes after rebooting it and checking that wintimertester reported the correct frequencies.
The tests were also let to run for 10 minutes.

Conclusion: (For me at least or people using the same board/Nuvotron LPCIO with Win7) Leave HPET disabled in motherboard and useplatformclock set to no.
If you are using windows 8 you probably want HPET enabled if you are overclocking or using turbo boost as it can actually mess up your clock and possibly do other things.

 

I still have the benchmark results saved so if you need more detail I can provide it.



#83 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 06 February 2014 - 01:52

The FPS results are too "noisy", you have a variance of 10fps in one of the tests, so an average increase of 0.49fps is just "noise", if you repeated those tests you'd get different results again.

#84 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 06 February 2014 - 02:26

The FPS results are too "noisy", you have a variance of 10fps in one of the tests, so an average increase of 0.49fps is just "noise", if you repeated those tests you'd get different results again.

Not really surprising. If there was a difference, gaming sites would have been widely reporting the results and we'd have seen professional benchmarks of HPET vs non-HPET for gaming.



#85 Nachbar

Nachbar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-January 14

Posted 07 February 2014 - 13:35

Well its not like the Bioshock Infinite benchmark is an accredited benchmarking program or anything. However the latencymon tests are pretty clear to me. Honestly I can't really feel or see any difference between this setting being set to on or off but it is true my latency is lower with hpet completely disabled. An average of nearly 4us compared to 1.1us on interrupt to process latency is pretty big.

 

I did my work. I would like to see others do some benchmarks and compare scores like I did. Especially to confirm whether or not the Nuvotron LPCIO results in worse timings compared to other manufacturers.



#86 WonG.

WonG.

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-February 14

Posted 07 February 2014 - 14:36

Hi there, where to get this timers tool from, shown in hardbags screenshots?



#87 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 07 February 2014 - 18:52

Well its not like the Bioshock Infinite benchmark is an accredited benchmarking program or anything. However the latencymon tests are pretty clear to me. Honestly I can't really feel or see any difference between this setting being set to on or off but it is true my latency is lower with hpet completely disabled. An average of nearly 4us compared to 1.1us on interrupt to process latency is pretty big.

 

I did my work. I would like to see others do some benchmarks and compare scores like I did. Especially to confirm whether or not the Nuvotron LPCIO results in worse timings compared to other manufacturers.

Don't discount your Bioshock results. Bioshock is real world benchmark and is exactly what you would want test here to see if HPET results in tangible real-world performance gains/losses. It's the difference between micro-benchmarking and benchmarking actual applications. See: http://en.wikipedia....mark_(computing) and see post #73 in this thread where I discussed the numerous issues with how the original benchmarking was done in this thread.

 

In this particular case with your DPC benchmarks, we are talking about DPC latencies with a few millionths of a second difference on average. These results are so tiny that it would be impossible to perceive a difference for real-time audio/video. Now if there had been large spikes that would be a different story.

 

Also, one last things to note, the LPC Bus is separate from clock generation (It's not the clock source).

 

Hi there, where to get this timers tool from, shown in hardbags screenshots?

He used this: http://en.wikipedia....Assessment_Tool



#88 WonG.

WonG.

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-February 14

Posted 09 February 2014 - 17:01

He used this: http://en.wikipedia....Assessment_Tool

sure? how to show this timers window then?



#89 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 09 February 2014 - 17:17

sure? how to show this timers window then?


http://www.neowin.ne...ost&p=594852311

Post #4. It's called WinTimerTester

#90 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 09 February 2014 - 19:18

sure? how to show this timers window then?

I thought you were talking about the scores from post #61 (. For those you need to run winsat in command line:

http://windowsitpro....ly-command-line

 

For the other benchmarks, he list those in the corresponding post.