Jump to content



Photo

A Working Version of Skype for Windows 8

skype windows release preview

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 devBrian

devBrian

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 13-September 03
  • Location: Cebu City, Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8 Double Penetration

Posted 01 June 2012 - 04:44

http://www.oldapps.c...hp?old_skype=94

There we go, using Skype 5.0, there are no crashes, no 30% CPU usage, etc. You're welcome :p


#2 Darrian

Darrian

    The Apathetic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-October 01

Posted 01 June 2012 - 04:53

I'm using the latest version of Skype and it works great. However, there's a trick to it; it wouldn't let me log in and would just hang on the login screen indefinitely, so I had to play around with the compatibility settings, and I found it only works well if you run it as administrator.

#3 OP devBrian

devBrian

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 13-September 03
  • Location: Cebu City, Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8 Double Penetration

Posted 01 June 2012 - 04:55

I'm using the latest version of Skype and it works great. However, there's a trick to it; it wouldn't let me log in and would just hang on the login screen indefinitely, so I had to play around with the compatibility settings, and I found it only works well if you run it as administrator.


Mine appeared to work just fine as well, however, the CPU usage was off the charts - anywhere from 20-45%. That made it a no-go for me. Any Skype version from 5.2 to 5.5 has that CPU problem for me (i5 processor).

#4 Darrian

Darrian

    The Apathetic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-October 01

Posted 01 June 2012 - 05:05

My CPU usage hasn't gone over 16.8%, but I'm running an AMD CPU.

#5 OP devBrian

devBrian

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 13-September 03
  • Location: Cebu City, Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8 Double Penetration

Posted 01 June 2012 - 05:06

My CPU usage hasn't gone over 16.8%, but I'm running an AMD CPU.


Yeah, that's still abnormal. Mine hasn't gone above 3% on this version.

#6 Darrian

Darrian

    The Apathetic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-October 01

Posted 02 June 2012 - 12:31

Well, it doesn't seem to be slowing my system down noticeably either, but yeah, hopefully there'll be an update coming soon to fix it.

#7 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 02 June 2012 - 12:38

I'm running the latest version of Skype and I have had no issues with my i7 930.

Something funky at your end I think >.<

#8 Sszecret

Sszecret

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Suceava, Romania
  • OS: Win7 SP 1 | Win 8.1 Pro | WP 7.8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 800

Posted 02 June 2012 - 13:07

I'm using Skype 5.9 and I haven't had any problems with it. No freezing, no excessive CPU usage, nothing.

#9 x.iso

x.iso

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 08
  • Location: Russia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Omnia 7

Posted 02 June 2012 - 15:38

I had some problems on 5.8 (just checked for newer version and upgrading). and the problem is, if I have a call and then hang up on my side, it would freeze and refuse to restart normally. it would also affect Opera for some reason as it freezes too and won't start up normally. if this occurs, only a reboot helps.

#10 Synthetic

Synthetic

    The one The only

  • Joined: 26-March 02
  • Location: Iowa City, IA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung ATIV S Neo

Posted 03 June 2012 - 02:40

Same problems here... Also I left my PC on last night and when I came back to it later it appeared that Skype had crashed and now Skype won't even log in anymore...

#11 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 03 June 2012 - 02:45

Yeah, I had to move down to 5.1.0.112 (suggested on skype forums)

#12 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 03 June 2012 - 03:04

I had to run 5.9 in XP SP3 compatibility mode. Not something I would consider a great fix. I find it odd Microsoft and Skype have been silent about these issues.

#13 Synthetic

Synthetic

    The one The only

  • Joined: 26-March 02
  • Location: Iowa City, IA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung ATIV S Neo

Posted 03 June 2012 - 05:02

Yeah I was really surprised that out of the programs I use and games I play Skype was the one that has had the most problems... Really the only one having problems... :/

#14 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 03 June 2012 - 05:13

using lastest and my is sitting @ 27% Intel i5 760.

#15 Emon

Emon

    /dev/null

  • Joined: 12-August 02
  • Location: MA
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X

Posted 05 June 2012 - 05:24

Here's how I worked-around the issues ..
Fix login issue:
  • Stop Skype (it doesn't stop all the way in Win8 RP so kill it using Task Manager/Process Explorer)
  • Go to C:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\Skype
  • Delete the following folders and files
  • shared_dynco
  • shared_httpfe
  • shared.lck
  • shared.xml
Fix high CPU usage:
  • Run Process Explorer
  • Find Skype from the running processes
  • Double click the Skype.exe process
  • Go to Threads tab (click ok on the warring, it only shows up once)
  • Sort the running threads by CPU usage and kill the one that is consuming highest CPU resource
  • Skype will be still running but it will consume less CPU resource than before