Jump to content



Photo

Can't install AMD Catalyst Preview driver


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 noblecouncil

noblecouncil

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-August 06

Posted 01 June 2012 - 16:25

RE: http://support.amd.c...iewDrivers.aspx

can someone tell me how to install it?
the installer can't identify the existence of my display card...

my card is Radeon Mobility HD 5650 on HP ENVT 14

Thanks in advance


#2 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 02 June 2012 - 04:03

RE: http://support.amd.c...iewDrivers.aspx

can someone tell me how to install it?
the installer can't identify the existence of my display card...

my card is Radeon Mobility HD 5650 on HP ENVT 14

Thanks in advance


The problem is that it's a Mobility part. While *some* Mobility parts are supported by the Release Preview driver (the HD5450, despite appearing in both desktops and portables, is actually a Mobility part), the same is *not* true for most other Mobility HD5xxx parts.

You will likely have to run the Windows 7 driver in Compatibility Mode.

http://ftp.hp.com/pu...000/sp50656.exe

#3 Martin Morel

Martin Morel

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 02 June 2012 - 05:37

In my case, I can "install" the package succesfully. However, there is a black border in my screen which I always get when I do a fresh install. I normally go into the Catalyst Control Center to setup the scaling option, but in my case the Catalyst Control Center simply does not install on my computer. I found some "CCC.exe" file, but no matter how I launch them (admin rights, comptability mode, w/e), it just does nothing.

I am on a Asus g73jh laptop (Radeon HD 5870 mobility).
Anyone having similar problems, or found a solution?

#4 Pascal Elliott Bourasseau

Pascal Elliott Bourasseau

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-March 12

Posted 02 June 2012 - 07:02

Same problem with my dell laptop and its HD5650. I had to ad the id of the graphic card to the inf file and disable driver signature to install prior to installing the driver. The driver is working well however I don't have the catalyst center.

#5 KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 02 June 2012 - 07:06

It's not a great driver anyway :( Some images in Windows cut off and become blocky. However for me it installed perfectly first time. It's probably because you are all mobility. It's just not supported yet, try installing the windows 7 ones maybe?

#6 lemonGrass

lemonGrass

    Residential Idiot

  • Joined: 08-May 09
  • Location: Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 02 June 2012 - 07:09

My Mobility HD5650 wasn't detected either. I managed to install mobility 12.3 using win7 compatibility.

#7 Martin Morel

Martin Morel

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 02 June 2012 - 16:22

My Mobility HD5650 wasn't detected either. I managed to install mobility 12.3 using win7 compatibility.


Including the Catalyst Control Center? You got it to work?

#8 OP noblecouncil

noblecouncil

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-August 06

Posted 03 June 2012 - 01:42

Including the Catalyst Control Center? You got it to work?

installed the mobility 12.3 driver but without CCC.....

#9 kilara1988

kilara1988

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-September 10

Posted 05 June 2012 - 12:55

I have similar problem.I have ATI Mobility Radeon hd5650 on my Acer.The consumer preview drivers on win 8 CP worked fine and they detected my card.Now running win 8 release preview and the release preview drivers can't detect it.Both drivers support AMD mobilty radeon hd5000 series,so i don't know why they wont work now.I am using the CP drivers which work and still detect my card.Can i make the release preview drivers detect my card by changing IDs or something like Pascal Elliot Bourasseau?

#10 mikiem

mikiem

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 09

Posted 05 June 2012 - 13:23

... in my case the Catalyst Control Center simply does not install on my computer. I found some "CCC.exe" file, but no matter how I launch them (admin rights, comptability mode, w/e), it just does nothing...


In my experience, Usually when CCC won't run it hasn't been completely installed. With one exception when that's happened the fix was to start up the AMD/ATI Install Mgr., uninstall CCC, delete the folder C:\Program Files (x86)\ ATI Technologies\ ATI.ACE -- C:\ Program FIles 32 bit -- & reinstall. The one exception I had required removing .NET stuff & reinstalling.

Can i make the release preview drivers detect my card by changing IDs or something like Pascal Elliot Bourasseau?


When you run the original driver setup pack everything expands into a new root folder -- a 2nd setup app runs from there. That's where you'll find the actual driver setup files, including the .inf file(s), Might also find modified drivers at Guru3D.com &/or info on modding them. Assuming you're using the latest preview drivers, might try the older version that installed successfully for you, or there was an unofficial win8 release at Guru3D, which was a modded win7 driver set -- *might* even try to use that unofficial release as a model or template on how to mod the latest preview drivers.

#11 kilara1988

kilara1988

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-September 10

Posted 05 June 2012 - 22:57

Will unpacking the Release Preview drivers and then replasing the .inf files with the .inf files from the Consumer Preview drivers(which work and im using now) work and make the Release Preview Drivers detect my card?

#12 McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 05 June 2012 - 23:07

Sorry to hi-jack, I downloaded the drivers for my Video card, it installed fine, however I can't find a mention of the Catalyst Control Center, normally it's in the right click menu.


uploading file


Posted Image

#13 Mysttik

Mysttik

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 12-October 12

Posted 12 October 2012 - 19:46

I have an Asus G73JH with the AMD Raedon 5870 graphics card too. My problem is that Asus hasn't updated their drivers since 2010. AMD walked me through a new driver that worked for one day, then started crashing my system. Asus told me I'm just screwed with this card and driver. What do I do?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!