Jump to content



Photo

Halo 4 coming for PC?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
24 replies to this topic

#1 Niekess

Niekess

    Windows Platform Developer

  • Joined: 12-September 11
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 930

Posted 04 June 2012 - 07:52

This just got my attention on the official Halo 4 page.

On the bottom of the page is one line saying you need Xbox Live Gold membership to play online which is obvious as we all know but the follow-up in the line got my eyes.

*Online multiplayer and Spartan Ops missions require Xbox LIVE Gold membership (sold separately). System requirements forthcoming.


Now why would a console game need a system requirement? In every console is the same hardware except in a PC. So this says for me they mean the requirements for PC will come up soon. Probably today at E3..


#2 ShareShiz

ShareShiz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 04 June 2012 - 08:00

There MAY be some way to play with Windows 8. But I'm sure its just a typo.

#3 +virtorio

virtorio

    4089 III

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.9, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 04 June 2012 - 08:09

Microsoft could put Halo 4 out for Windows 8 to help highlight the new Xbox Live features.
Or maybe it's just referring to something like Halo Waypoint

#4 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: OnePlus One 64GB

Posted 04 June 2012 - 08:13

As much as I'd love it, I highly doubt they'd release Halo 4 on PC. It's more likely that Halo 4 will require a hard drive for some of its features (vs. flash storage).

This is taken from the Microsoft webpage for Halo: Reach:

An Xbox 360 Hard Drive is required for these Halo Reach game features: Networked Co-op Campaign Play, Networked Firefight, Saved Films, File Storage. (The Xbox 360 4 GB and Xbox 360 Arcade console have internal flash memory- not hard drives.)

http://marketplace.x...15-d8024d53085b

#5 nvllsvm

nvllsvm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-July 05
  • OS: Arch Linux
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 June 2012 - 08:16

If it is released on PC, I wouldn't pick it up anyways. It would be a similar situation to the Fable series. You have the first and third Fable, but no second; quite annoying. Assuming continuity, there's a nice big chunk of story missing.

#6 Amarok

Amarok

    One. Three. FiVe.

  • Joined: 15-February 04
  • Location: New York, USA

Posted 04 June 2012 - 09:07

Would be nice. Been awhile since I got to play any of the Halo games. Was thinking recently about them but I'm not really interested in picking up an xbox to do so. Halo 4 on PC would be pretty awesome tbh.

#7 Subhadip

Subhadip

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-August 02

Posted 04 June 2012 - 09:27

It might require a minimum install space, which would rule out models like the old X360 Arcade.

#8 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 04 June 2012 - 21:32

We need Halo 3 first!

#9 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 04 June 2012 - 21:36

We need Halo 3 first!


This.

#10 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 04 June 2012 - 21:39

This just got my attention on the official Halo 4 page.

On the bottom of the page is one line saying you need Xbox Live Gold membership to play online which is obvious as we all know but the follow-up in the line got my eyes.



Now why would a console game need a system requirement? In every console is the same hardware except in a PC. So this says for me they mean the requirements for PC will come up soon. Probably today at E3..

No, don't get your hopes up. That probably means requirement of HDD, free space (Spartan Ops is free DLC), internet connection etc.

#11 Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 04 June 2012 - 21:46

If it came out on the PC, I would cry. I would play it as much as I played the original Halo on the PC, a lot. :D

#12 Anthony Tosie

Anthony Tosie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-April 12
  • Location: United States

Posted 05 June 2012 - 00:58

They probably mean things like hard drive requirements, controllers, etc. All Xbox games have things like that listed on the back in green and orange.

I really hope it comes to the PC in a few years, though.

#13 xXDestroyerGRXx

xXDestroyerGRXx

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-March 09
  • Location: Greece

Posted 05 June 2012 - 01:04

Better nerf Irelia.

#14 Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 05 June 2012 - 01:12

It might require a minimum install space, which would rule out models like the old X360 Arcade.

This.

#15 Ci7

Ci7

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-June 08
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iphone 5S

Posted 05 June 2012 - 01:18

If it is released on PC, I wouldn't pick it up anyways. It would be a similar situation to the Fable series. You have the first and third Fable, but no second; quite annoying. Assuming continuity, there's a nice big chunk of story missing.


For Fable , i would rather believe the sequals never existed

Fable 2 is (N)

Fable 3 is piece of junk *mad*