Jump to content



Photo

Can't change to Google.com anymore!


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 metro2012

metro2012

    Neowinian

  • 458 posts
  • Joined: 13-May 12

Posted 16 June 2012 - 17:54

is there a reason i cant go to google.com anymore??? it redirects me automatically to my counties domain. i dont want to. plus now it detects my location/city/etc where i am at. i want to remove that too. i am not logged in. how can i do this?????


#2 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,476 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 16 June 2012 - 17:57

www.google.com/ncr

That will take you to Google.com. I'm not sure about removing your location though.

#3 OP metro2012

metro2012

    Neowinian

  • 458 posts
  • Joined: 13-May 12

Posted 16 June 2012 - 17:58

www.google.com/ncr

That will take you to Google.com. I'm not sure about removing your location though.

ah thanks :) one thing out the way

#4 +jamesyfx

jamesyfx

    Neowinian Senior

  • 8,383 posts
  • Joined: 04-February 06
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 16 June 2012 - 18:00

Using this link should work as a quick fix as well: http://www.google.co...main?prefdom=US

#5 OP metro2012

metro2012

    Neowinian

  • 458 posts
  • Joined: 13-May 12

Posted 16 June 2012 - 18:00

going there seems to have fixed it....

#6 +devHead

devHead

    Get Off The Bandwagon, Put Down The Handbook

  • 2,689 posts
  • Joined: 08-August 01
  • Location: Arizona... Among The Trees
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 521

Posted 16 June 2012 - 18:01

I found this to be the case only with Opera. There was no way I could go to google.com, but only google.bg. Of course I could have it in English, but it would absolutely not let me go to google.com. But in Firefox and IE, I'm able to.

#7 Navan

Navan

    Neowinian

  • 687 posts
  • Joined: 12-May 07

Posted 16 June 2012 - 18:16

when you open your local google website, look at the bottom, it says "go to google.com"

Edit: Nevermind, it's not working for me either. WTF? weird.

#8 ziper

ziper

    Neowinian

  • 263 posts
  • Joined: 27-July 02

Posted 16 June 2012 - 18:21

Saw this thread and tried myself, same here I cant go to Google.com, used all three different methods described in this thread doesn't work like it usually does. Using Chrome. It's probably a temporary bug.

#9 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • 62,621 posts
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 16 June 2012 - 22:51

No Google.com ? that's a bad thing ? :p

#10 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • 10,072 posts
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 16 June 2012 - 23:05

change it in your hosts file:

computer>c drive (or whatever mounted to)>windows>system32>drivers>etc>HOSTS