Jump to content



Photo

Change the Default System Fonts in Windows 7, 8...

fontsize system default

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 falken1975

falken1975

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 09 August 2012 - 20:01

Let's see if anyone knows how I can change the font size to be marked within the red circle from the registry. The others and I have since record in 'Window Metrics' but which are within the red circle there is no way. It is the default font of system , for ye see him, is the font shown for example in the run window when you press the key combination 'Windows + R'.

Posted Image


#2 shockz

shockz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 01
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 09 August 2012 - 20:05

Not at all helpful, but do you have a link to that wallpaper?

#3 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 09 August 2012 - 20:07

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
"Segoe UI"="Arial"
-------------------------------------------------------

Or replace Arial with your choice of font.

#4 OP falken1975

falken1975

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 09 August 2012 - 20:15

Not at all helpful, but do you have a link to that wallpaper?


yes, of course

https://docs.google....OEo2ZTJTc0NaN0E

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
"Segoe UI"="Arial"
-------------------------------------------------------

Or replace Arial with your choice of font.



Ok, but i'm asking for fontsize. That way only change the type, right?

#5 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 09 August 2012 - 23:56

Yes. This will change the font.
As to the size of the font, I'll look into it.

#6 OP falken1975

falken1975

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 10 August 2012 - 02:21

Yes. This will change the font.
As to the size of the font, I'll look into it.


Thank you very much for what you do Ice_Blue :)

#7 Descartes

Descartes

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • Location: Poland

Posted 10 August 2012 - 02:29

On a related note, I'd love to know how to reduce the border width to the RP look - now that the corners are square, we can thin down the borders and not make it butt-ugly as a drawback.

#8 AsherGZ

AsherGZ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 11
  • Location: Karachi, Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 820, 520

Posted 10 August 2012 - 04:47

On a related note, I'd love to know how to reduce the border width to the RP look - now that the corners are square, we can thin down the borders and not make it butt-ugly as a drawback.

http://winaero.com/comment.php?comment.news.96

That site has a lot of other cool tweaking software for Windows 8 too.

#9 syncore

syncore

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-February 04

Posted 10 August 2012 - 04:55

I did it like this (using Kroeger 05_55 pixel font). The version of this font is Bitmap (.fon) and it only has one size (very, very small), so any size that the OS tries to set gets ignored :)


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Fonts]

"Segoe UI (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Bold (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Bold Italic (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Italic (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Light (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Semibold (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Symbol (TrueType)"=""


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]

"Segoe UI"="Kroeger 05_55"
"Segoe UI Light"="Kroeger 05_55"
"Segoe UI Semibold"="Kroeger 05_55"
"Segoe UI Symbol"="Kroeger 05_55"

#10 OP falken1975

falken1975

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 10 August 2012 - 11:16

I did it like this (using Kroeger 05_55 pixel font). The version of this font is Bitmap (.fon) and it only has one size (very, very small), so any size that the OS tries to set gets ignored :)


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Fonts]

"Segoe UI (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Bold (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Bold Italic (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Italic (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Light (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Semibold (TrueType)"=""
"Segoe UI Symbol (TrueType)"=""


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]

"Segoe UI"="Kroeger 05_55"
"Segoe UI Light"="Kroeger 05_55"
"Segoe UI Semibold"="Kroeger 05_55"
"Segoe UI Symbol"="Kroeger 05_55"


What I'm looking for is to use the default font of the system, but change its size. Have a screenshot of how it looks?

#11 OP falken1975

falken1975

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 13 August 2012 - 16:57

Anyone else know anything?

#12 mosadramadan

mosadramadan

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 21-August 12

Posted 22 August 2012 - 15:26

it doesn't change anything
it isn't the default font

#13 Tryin2Help

Tryin2Help

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-October 12

Posted 30 October 2012 - 12:07

Its "SilentR3venge the Spammer" ... HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Fonts
Back it up.....
There's Arial
http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=00130713334231639282

Before
Posted Image

After
Posted Image

Want to know how its done go back and look at that key. Downside, you don't get to use that font... but oh well I'm running a netbook so I can't afford that blurry bs.. Maybe you'll think twice before talking crap about someone's name on your forum. I am not a spammer.

#14 Tryin2Help

Tryin2Help

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-October 12

Posted 30 October 2012 - 18:03

Ok... I wouldn't do this. After playing around with it all day, I discovered. Your just gonna make a mess.... And my netbook is running 10x better then it did with 7. So If you wanna play around with it, otherwise I wouldn't recommend wasting your time.

#15 Asrokhel

Asrokhel

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-April 12
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64 (testing to see if I keep it or go back to Windows 7)

Posted 30 October 2012 - 18:10

Is that second app in your screenshot the new Windows 8 Task Manager?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!