Jump to content



Photo

[Shift2] Dead?

shift2 shift linux project

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
121 replies to this topic

#1 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 08 September 2012 - 13:37

Seems to be no-one active on it anymore then? :(

Just as I got sorted to work on it.

So what's the status of people and does anyone else want to join in on making Shift2 a reality?


#2 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 08 September 2012 - 15:07

I was going to try and help, but I just can't do it based off Arch, so I stepped back. Don't know what happened to anyone else.

#3 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 09 September 2012 - 03:15

totally didn't see this coming /sarcasm

#4 CentralDogma

CentralDogma

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-February 08

Posted 09 September 2012 - 03:17

Chances are, if you have to ask if an open source project is dead, it's dead.

#5 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 09 September 2012 - 05:12

If it would have been based on Fedora or Debian, it would still be getting worked on by me.

#6 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 09 September 2012 - 09:25

Sod it, I'll work on it anyway.

#7 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 09 September 2012 - 16:26

Chances are, if you have to ask if an open source project is dead, it's dead.


At least the project lead could have stated something and not just leave everyone in the dark. Everyone understands that RL can keep you away from things, but when that person is still popping in and out like it's the thing to do and not even post an update or something isn't cool.

#8 simrat

simrat

    pooonjabi!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64, Arch Linux (Gnome)
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (stock)

Posted 09 September 2012 - 16:44

Really busy in new job, will still try to help with graphics part.

#9 Matthew_Thepc

Matthew_Thepc

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 11
  • Location: San Jose, CA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 RTM

Posted 09 September 2012 - 16:56

No one's updated the Github repo yet :\

I was just waiting for you guys to get the building/installer/etc. stuff working before I help out on the easy stuff ;)

#10 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 09 September 2012 - 17:02

Really busy in new job, will still try to help with graphics part.


Nothing on you simrat. This falls squarely on the shoulders of the project lead.

#11 +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 09 September 2012 - 18:06

I was going to try and help, but I just can't do it based off Arch, so I stepped back. Don't know what happened to anyone else.


And why is that?

#12 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 09 September 2012 - 18:48

as soon as someone can get arch running gui with networking off a live cd then i can do it

#13 +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 09 September 2012 - 18:56

as soon as someone can get arch running gui with networking off a live cd then i can do it


What is so hard about it? I am just curious. To connect to a wireless network with WPA2, all you do is (off the top of my head):

wpa_passphrase ESSID "Password" > /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicanf.conf
dhcpcd wlan0


#14 Barney T.

Barney T.

    Debian Linux: I'm Loving It!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 09 September 2012 - 19:38

Before anyone starts pointing fingers, I just wanted to add that a project like this requires distinctive roles of developers, graphics people, PR people, and the like. It also requires a roadmap that eveyone on the team understands and follows. The importance of good orgaization and communication can not be under emphasizied. It also requires regular, organized meetings to sort out issues and assign tasks.

No one should be discouraged if the project slows down or speeds up. The ups and downs are a part of the journey. It took 3 years to get Shift up and running. We had Shift team members come and go......... we had several changes in lead developers. We also had several lapses while we re-organized... It takes time and committment to complete a community project.

If there is a team that is still interested, take your time and work through issues like this. Don't listen to the trolls and distractors. If you guys want this project to succeed, it will.

Just my 2 cents!

Barney

#15 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 09 September 2012 - 20:50

And why is that?


Because I hate Arch. Might as well be Egyptian hieroglyphics. If we can actually base this on Fedora or Debian, then I am all in.