Jump to content



Photo

Would like help troubleshooting some WordPress CSS

css coding

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 shifts

shifts

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 03

Posted 08 September 2012 - 14:07

Hey all,

Thought I'd ask the people of the good ship Neowin to see if they can help. I've purchased a Wordpress theme and was using it fine until I decided to use drop down menus.

They are there but the background on the menu when it drops down isn't. I've tried a few tools to see what css selector it might be.

Can anyone out there lend a hand. It's the main drop down menu at essentialmac.co.uk.

Thanks in advance


#2 the better twin

the better twin

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • OS: Win 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia

Posted 10 September 2012 - 09:13


ul.sub-menu{

   background: *** whatever bg color/img you want ***;

}



#3 OP shifts

shifts

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 03

Posted 10 September 2012 - 13:55

Thanks for the code, ill get it added shortly.

Right now I'm wondering why the smallest file on my server, selection.php which only contains this ..

a {
 color:#31ABC5;
}
a:hover {
 color:#111111;
}
Is causing a 15 second wait time.

Edited by shifts, 10 September 2012 - 14:14.


#4 myuniquenickname

myuniquenickname

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-September 12

Posted 14 September 2012 - 15:10

Thanks for the code, ill get it added shortly.

Right now I'm wondering why the smallest file on my server, selection.php which only contains this ..

a {
color:#31ABC5;
}
a:hover {
color:#111111;
}
Is causing a 15 second wait time.


This isn't PHP, perhaps that's causing issues. Are you sure this shouldn't end with .css? I get a 1.036s waiting time on the file though, not 15s.

This is a strange file as well... wp-content/plugins/gd-star-rating/css/gdsr.css.php, which only contains css. Dunno, I'm only using Dragonfly and viewing the front page files list.

#5 OP shifts

shifts

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 03

Posted 14 September 2012 - 17:57

It was an interesting one. I added a cname with my domain name register to add just essentialmac without the WWW and suddenly things started loading like I thought they would do.

Yup, I know it's not PHP so I contacted the developer of the wordpress theme but had no reply so I've no idea what css is inside a php file.

Im staring to think that W3 Total Cache may be a touch advanced for my actual needs and might shift to something simpler.

I'm struggling to find out where to add that css if anyone can shine a light.

#6 +Medfordite

Medfordite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • Location: Medford Oregon
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC One M7 - Blue

Posted 14 September 2012 - 18:00

I personally use Firefox with Firebug installed, using both of those together, it really makes things smoother when trying to find the correct CSS file. Caching while developing though is a big PITA. Disable the cache in Cloudflare too (I looked at your DNS records), until you are ready to deploy. It will save you time in the long run.

Might want to look for the css in this file though:

http://www.essential...g/css/style.css

:)

#7 myuniquenickname

myuniquenickname

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-September 12

Posted 14 September 2012 - 19:51

It isn't in a separate CSS file but in a PHP file that adds a style to the li marked in red.

<div id="menu">
  <ul id="menu-deals-and-discounts-codes" class="menu sf-js-enabled sf-shadow">
	<li id="menu-item-3454" class="menu-item menu-item-type-taxonomy menu-item-object-category menu-item-3454">
	  <a href="http://www.essentialmac.co.uk/category/deals-offers/">Deals &amp; Offers</a>
	</li>
	<li id="menu-item-3524" class="menu-item menu-item-type-custom menu-item-object-custom menu-item-3524">
	  <a href="http://www.essentialmac.co.uk/tag/reviewed/" class="sf-with-ul">
		Reviewed
		<span class="sf-sub-indicator"> »</span>
	  </a>
	  <ul class="sub-menu" style="float: none; width: 12em; display: none; visibility: hidden">
		<li id="menu-item-3525" class="menu-item menu-item-type-custom menu-item-object-custom menu-item-3525" style="float: left; width: 100%; white-space: normal">
		  <a href="http://www.essentialmac.co.uk/tag/iphone-accessories/" style="float: none; width: auto; padding-left: 15px;">iPhone Bits</a>
		</li>
		<li id="menu-item-3523" class="menu-item menu-item-type-custom menu-item-object-custom menu-item-3523" style="float: left; width: 100%; white-space: normal">
		  <a href="http://www.essentialmac.co.uk/tag/ipad-accessories/" style="float: none; width: auto; padding-left: 15px">iPad Accessories</a>
		</li>
	  </ul>
	</li>
  </ul>
</div>

style="float: none; width: auto; padding-left: 15px"

You can add a background css property to the style in the PHP file, like
style="float: none; width: auto; padding-left: 15px; background:#ce0;"

Try "Search in files" for float: none; width: auto; padding-left using Notepad++

Tip of the week! :)
Opera and it's built in Dragonfly web development tool, the greatest there is! :D