Jump to content



Photo

Add "OP" to user in the thread he started...


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:23

Saw something on another site thats a pretty nice touch for big threads.....

When a user starts a thread, a text (or something similar, nonannoying) should be added beside the user's name saying OP (Original Poster). This would keep track on who originally asked the question in case it goes off topic.

I dont know, I see it helpful but some opinions would be nice.


#2 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: OnePlus One 64GB

Posted 10 October 2012 - 14:52

It would be helpful but it isn't difficult to remember one person's username. Also, you usually don't need to remember the original poster's username in large threads.

#3 OP pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 10 October 2012 - 17:49

It would be helpful but it isn't difficult to remember one person's username. Also, you usually don't need to remember the original poster's username in large threads.

I dont know I saw it helpful at the moment :) Thank you for replying.

#4 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:40

Alright, I added something just to see how this works out. So it is possible to do it without any modifications. Will see what Neobond thinks of the idea, and if he's no fan, will remove it. Might be confusing to users so don't know myself.

#5 Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:48

This is a good idea in my opinion. If you want a good implementation of this, check out SlickDeals.

#6 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:50

Hmm, when I looked at this thread I thought OP's name is OP pes2013. It's a bit confusing for regular members but seems fine for the 'colored' ones. Won't this be a bit redundant since we can already see who the OP is at the top of the page below the title? Just my 2 cents.

#7 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:55

This is a good idea in my opinion. If you want a good implementation of this, check out SlickDeals.

Now that looks good.
Posted Image

#8 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:58

Yeah it looks like OP is a part of the users name as it is. "OP" needs to be colored and or in brackets.

#9 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 11 October 2012 - 03:58

slickdeals is using VBulletin....

I'm sure IPB has a hook, however, neowin is running a version or two behind... so that might be difficult to find one to work with this version... also I requested they have real time facebook style notifications and they can't do that till they upgrade.

#10 *RedBull*

*RedBull*

    skippy de do da

  • Joined: 30-March 06
  • Location: Everywhere and No where
  • OS: Windows 8 professional
  • Phone: Android

Posted 11 October 2012 - 04:52

^ What she said. :yes:

#11 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 11 October 2012 - 05:01

Should be different than the user name, u may need to clear cache.

I'm cool with doing it like slickdeals, but kinda crap with the stupid member badges everyone has :(

#12 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 11 October 2012 - 05:12

there was one that added a little icon next to the username....

#13 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 11 October 2012 - 05:24

Should be different than the user name, u may need to clear cache.

I'm cool with doing it like slickdeals, but kinda crap with the stupid member badges everyone has :(

Oh, I was using Darkside so I didn't spot it. I think that's enough. Yeah, I don't think it will look good with the badges.

#14 SuperKid

SuperKid

    Im no superman

  • Joined: 21-April 08
  • Location: Birmingham, England, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.8, iOS 7
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 11 October 2012 - 13:40

Just noticed this today and love it, very very useful.

#15 +Lovell

Lovell

    ,l,(-.-),l,

  • Joined: 14-November 03
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 11 October 2012 - 13:46

Didn't Neowin used to have it so the first post was always at the top of the page?