Jump to content



Photo

MSCONFIG Issue


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Sinster

Sinster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-August 05

Posted 15 October 2012 - 16:17

Trying to troubleshoot my app issue. I have found another issue. Even though I running Win8 MSConfig is telling me that I'm running Win7. When I reboot and if I select normal startup it throws in G:\VIsta Ultimate as my second o/s installed. G drive is empty and just holds some files and pictures.


Posted Image

Posted Image


#2 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 15 October 2012 - 16:36

Weird! Did you upgrade from Windows 7? Did you ever have vista installed at any point on that 2nd drive?

#3 OP Sinster

Sinster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-August 05

Posted 15 October 2012 - 17:19

I did upgrade from Win7. In fact my G drive at one point had Win8 both preview and the one I got from Dreamspark.

#4 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 15 October 2012 - 17:41

I did upgrade from Win7. In fact my G drive at one point had Win8 both preview and the one I got from Dreamspark.


I'd tell you to do a full reinstall but in this case, just deal with it. The official Windows 8 will be out here pretty soon. When you buy it, try to do a full reinstall. Format the drives during install so you don't get the left over windows.old.

#5 OP Sinster

Sinster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-August 05

Posted 15 October 2012 - 18:07

I'd tell you to do a full reinstall but in this case, just deal with it. The official Windows 8 will be out here pretty soon. When you buy it, try to do a full reinstall. Format the drives during install so you don't get the left over windows.old.


I wanted to keep my my settings and what not. Win7 was the first Windows o/s that I didn't do a clean install every 6 months to a year to clear the cob webs out.

#6 jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 15 October 2012 - 18:15

It sounds to me like there might be some hidden/system files let over on your G drive. I would suggest opening a command prompt and type
dir /a or use dir /ah or dir /as
in the root of your G drive, this should show you any hidden files. The switch /ah shows all files marked hidden, the /as shows all files with the system attribute. If you do find files on that drive, this could be confusing windows when it tries to boot.

#7 OP Sinster

Sinster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-August 05

Posted 15 October 2012 - 19:08

G:\>dir /ah
Volume in drive G is Storage
Volume Serial Number is 8EF6-57C6

Directory of G:\

10/14/2012 22:12 <DIR> $RECYCLE.BIN
10/14/2012 22:08 <DIR> System Volume Information
0 File(s) 0 bytes
2 Dir(s) 155,410,067,456 bytes free

G:\>
G:\>dir /a
Volume in drive G is Storage
Volume Serial Number is 8EF6-57C6

Directory of G:\

10/14/2012 22:12 <DIR> $RECYCLE.BIN
10/14/2012 22:08 <DIR> << spam >> Blu-ray to MP4 Ripper
10/14/2012 22:02 <DIR> iTunes
10/14/2012 22:08 <DIR> MPC HomeCinema (x64)
10/14/2012 22:08 <DIR> System Volume Information
0 File(s) 0 bytes
5 Dir(s) 155,410,067,456 bytes free

G:\>dir /as
Volume in drive G is Storage
Volume Serial Number is 8EF6-57C6

Directory of G:\

10/14/2012 22:12 <DIR> $RECYCLE.BIN
10/14/2012 22:08 <DIR> System Volume Information
0 File(s) 0 bytes
2 Dir(s) 155,410,067,456 bytes free

G:\>


When I select normal startup it populates G:Windows

Posted Image

#8 DPyro

DPyro

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-December 05
  • Location: Ontario,Canada

Posted 15 October 2012 - 19:17

Try remaking your BCD using EasyBCD.

#9 OP Sinster

Sinster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-August 05

Posted 15 October 2012 - 19:40

I'm not dual booting.

-- When I select NORMALStartup under the BOOT tab "Vista Ultimate G:\windows" populates
-- When I delete "Vista Ultimate G:\windows" and "NORMAL Startup" reboot and open MSCONFIG. "NORMAL Startup" is not ticked, "SELECTED Startup" is now ticked.

#10 DPyro

DPyro

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-December 05
  • Location: Ontario,Canada

Posted 15 October 2012 - 20:06

That doesn't change the fact you have old entries in your BCD after you upgraded from Windows 7. EasyBCD can by used even if your not dual booting.

#11 OP Sinster

Sinster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-August 05

Posted 15 October 2012 - 20:09

I will try it then. If that doesn't work I will be getting a new SSD tomorrow and I will just do a clean install.

#12 DPyro

DPyro

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-December 05
  • Location: Ontario,Canada

Posted 15 October 2012 - 20:13

In EasyBCD, go to Edit Boot Menu. You will be able to delete the old entry and rename your Windows 7 to Windows 8.

Posted Image

#13 nub

nub

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-November 06
  • Location: Amerika

Posted 15 October 2012 - 20:15

This means nothing. Its just a name. You could make it say "Windows 97" and it'll still load Win8.

#14 DPyro

DPyro

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-December 05
  • Location: Ontario,Canada

Posted 15 October 2012 - 20:22

This means nothing. Its just a name. You could make it say "Windows 97" and it'll still load Win8.

True. :laugh:

#15 OP Sinster

Sinster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-August 05

Posted 15 October 2012 - 20:44

The old one isnt showing up. Windows 7 is the only thing showing up.