Jump to content



Photo

Smartglass app

xbox smartglass

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 UKDarkJedi

UKDarkJedi

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-June 04
  • Location: Luton, UK

Posted 25 October 2012 - 18:51

Not really sure if this should go in here or in the Windows 8 section as it applies to both.

Has anyone got the SmartGlass app to work yet? I've got it installed on my laptop and the fall update applied on my Xbox but when I start the app it just closes again, no error messages or anything.

Can't really find anyone online with similar experiences so asking for help here...


#2 netwokz

netwokz

    Look Ma, No hands!

  • Joined: 21-September 04
  • Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 25 October 2012 - 18:56

Mine works just fine, was been for a while. Maybe try to uninstall and re-install?

#3 OP UKDarkJedi

UKDarkJedi

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-June 04
  • Location: Luton, UK

Posted 25 October 2012 - 19:02

Yup I've got one friend in the states who got it working. I uninstalled and reinstalled today just to be safe but still nothing. If it gave me an error I'd have an idea why it wasn't working but I get nada :(

#4 netwokz

netwokz

    Look Ma, No hands!

  • Joined: 21-September 04
  • Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 25 October 2012 - 19:05

you have your gamertag email singed into windows right? and have you enabled Xbox companion on the Xbox?

#5 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 25 October 2012 - 19:08

I messed around with it a bit last night. Seemed to be pretty slick.

#6 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 25 October 2012 - 20:46

I just got done giving it a try via my Windows Phone, works fine though I expect it'll work better on a Win8 tablet with the bigger screen.

#7 AdzzzUK

AdzzzUK

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-September 03
  • Location: West Midlands, UK

Posted 07 November 2012 - 00:23

This is now out for iOS devices... be interesting to see how it works on an iPad!

#8 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 November 2012 - 00:35

This is now out for iOS devices... be interesting to see how it works on an iPad!


Just had an update for it on my Lumia

#9 OP UKDarkJedi

UKDarkJedi

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-June 04
  • Location: Luton, UK

Posted 08 November 2012 - 18:25

you have your gamertag email singed into windows right? and have you enabled Xbox companion on the Xbox?

Yeah, I am getting gamerscore from minesweeper and jetpack joyride (love that game btw!) but still no joy from the smartglass app :/

#10 d4rk5ky

d4rk5ky

    Tech Head

  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Location: NB, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 23 November 2012 - 08:34

Not to bring this thread back to life or anything but i was curious as to why the iOS SmartGlass app does not allow me to use my iphone keyboard to type, the box is just grayed out. At first i just thought this was because the keyboard functionality is only available through the ipad but i am unsure.

#11 Jeston

Jeston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 07-July 05
  • Location: Las Cruces, NM, US

Posted 23 November 2012 - 09:39

Not to bring this thread back to life or anything but i was curious as to why the iOS SmartGlass app does not allow me to use my iphone keyboard to type, the box is just grayed out. At first i just thought this was because the keyboard functionality is only available through the ipad but i am unsure.


There should be a message popping up saying you are unable to use the keyboard or browser control when connected to a different network. Sadly, with my tests it seems if you have one wired (your Xbox) and one wireless (your iPhone) on the same router it will think you're on different networks. I assume same goes for being connected on two different bands on the same router (ie one connected to G and the other to N).