Jump to content



Photo

Time keeps changing by itself on Windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 28 October 2012 - 08:33

I'm dual booting Lion and Windows 7 and lately every time i'm using Windows the time changes 9 hours fwd.
I'm not talking about restarts between Windows and Lion . The clock in Lion stays the same all the time but in windows i can set the time to 4:00 and after a few min the time will change it self to 13:00.
First i thought i need a CMOS change but if the time keep staying set on ubuntu i don't think that's the problem.
I've cancelled time sync with microsoft servers etc' but the problem remains.

And Ideas?


#2 Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 28 October 2012 - 08:47

Hmm..I've just started having this problem yesterday. Can't figure it out either. I've even disabled the Windows Time service but it still changes.

#3 +virtorio

virtorio

    4089 III

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.9, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 28 October 2012 - 08:48

This article might help solve the problem:

http://lifehacker.co...oting-with-os-x

#4 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 28 October 2012 - 08:52

Thanks for the comment.
^ I know about that little tweak, that's not the problem I'm facing (and fixed that issue a long time ago). While i'm on Windows i see the clock changes 9 hours ahead. Not after a restart between OS.

Wakers, are you dual booting with another OS?

#5 Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 28 October 2012 - 11:14

No, I've just upgraded to Windows 8.

#6 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 28 October 2012 - 13:18

Add the RealTimeIsUniversal key to the registry, restart immediately, then set the clock either in the BIOS or OS X and it should stick.

#7 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 28 October 2012 - 13:23

Do you have some wacky daylight savings time patch installed? Or maybe your computer is trying to tell you that it's time to upgrade to Windows 8.

#8 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 28 October 2012 - 13:30

Add the RealTimeIsUniversal key to the registry, restart immediately, then set the clock either in the BIOS or OS X and it should stick.


Did that, I don't think that's the problem. I'm using an hackintosh for 3 years now and added that registry key around that so long time ago.
That tweak is fixing the time differences when you move from Windows to Lion etc', my problem is that the time changes while i'm in windows. I change it to 10:00, the computer changes it to 19:00. That can happen 3 times in 10 min with no restart.


Do you have some wacky daylight savings time patch installed? Or maybe your computer is trying to tell you that it's time to upgrade to Windows 8.


Every daylight \ sync \ time related thingy is disabled. I think i'm gonna wait with Windows 8 for now :)

#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 101
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 28 October 2012 - 14:19

What is your BIOS time? Is it UTC?

What is the output of your time zone settings in windows 7?

C:\Windows\system32>w32tm /tz
Time zone: Current:TIME_ZONE_ID_DAYLIGHT Bias: 360min (UTC=LocalTime+Bias)
[Standard Name:"Central Standard Time" Bias:0min Date:(M:11 D:1 DoW:0)]
[Daylight Name:"Central Daylight Time" Bias:-60min Date:(M:3 D:2 DoW:0)]

Are you a member of a domain? Domain members will sync with domain timesource. Good ref for windows time stuff
http://technet.micro...3(v=ws.10).aspx

I just run actual ntp client and turn off the built in sync service. There are ports actual ntp client for windows. But if your changing by 9 hours you have something wrong with timezone.

#10 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 October 2012 - 14:29

"Time keeps changing by itself on Windows 7"

That's what it's supposed to do :p

Imagine having to do it by hand :laugh:

#11 mduren2445

mduren2445

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 06

Posted 28 October 2012 - 14:41

and if all else fails ...the battery on the motherboard? how old is it?

#12 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 28 October 2012 - 14:43

Old..4-5 years. But i don't think that's it. I can use lion for days and the clock won't change once. When i'm on windows it changes after 10 min of use.

#13 episode

episode

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 11-December 01

Posted 28 October 2012 - 14:48

Are you sure you're in the right time zone under Windows?

#14 OP Shasoosh

Shasoosh

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 28 October 2012 - 16:17

What is your BIOS time? Is it UTC?

What is the output of your time zone settings in windows 7?

C:\Windows\system32>w32tm /tz
Time zone: Current:TIME_ZONE_ID_DAYLIGHT Bias: 360min (UTC=LocalTime+Bias)
[Standard Name:"Central Standard Time" Bias:0min Date:(M:11 D:1 DoW:0)]
[Daylight Name:"Central Daylight Time" Bias:-60min Date:(M:3 D:2 DoW:0)]

Are you a member of a domain? Domain members will sync with domain timesource. Good ref for windows time stuff
http://technet.micro...v=ws.10%29.aspx

I just run actual ntp client and turn off the built in sync service. There are ports actual ntp client for windows. But if your changing by 9 hours you have something wrong with timezone.


It's UTC... I think?


C:\Users\Segev>w32tm /tz
Time zone: Current:TIME_ZONE_ID_UNKNOWN Bias: -120min (UTC=LocalTime+Bias)
[Standard Name:"Jerusalem Standard Time" Bias:0min Date:(unspecified)]
[Daylight Name:"Jerusalem Standard Time" Bias:0min Date:(unspecified)]

I'm not a member of a domain (Our computers at work change the time according to the server, that's not the case.)

#15 Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 28 October 2012 - 19:56

For my part, the time in BIOS is correct. It's just Windows that gets it wrong. I'm not part of a domain either. This behaviour only started happening pretty much immediately after installing Windows 8. The clock will reset itself when the display is turned off after it's been idle. As soon as I wake it up, the time seems to be equal to whatever time it was the computer went into sleep.

I can resolve the issue by going into the clock and forcing it to sync the time again, however this often takes a couple of attempts as the operation will time out.