Jump to content



Photo

Like your Surface? No, you can't (or shouldn't). It's a bad dev

microsoft surface

  • Please log in to reply
131 replies to this topic

#121 migo

migo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-May 05

Posted 07 January 2013 - 00:17

funnily, that's no longer true, when it was made that was true, but due to some weird linguistics or something mostly because of the time QWERTY has been in existence, QWERTY is no faster. I believe it was talked about in some tech documentary that was linked here as well.


If it's because of how long QWERTY has been in existence, it's not because QWERTY is faster, it's because so many people use QWERTY that you're more likely to find someone who's talented at speed typing using QWERTY than Dvorak.


#122 migo

migo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-May 05

Posted 08 January 2013 - 21:10

Checked another demo unit out, this one had the Type Cover. No complaints with it - well spaced, I don't mind the lack of travel as I've been using laptops for so long. Not quite as fond of the trackpad on it though, it could have used the texturing on the Touch Cover. The Touch Cover isn't even flexible though, so I see no practical reason to get it over the Type Cover.

#123 blade1269

blade1269

    Jesus Saved me! A Christian!

  • Joined: 10-January 04
  • Location: Arizona
  • OS: Window 8.1 iOS Linux Mint

Posted 09 January 2013 - 17:23

Can you replace the hdd on the surface? Go from 32 gig to say. 500 gb?

#124 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 09 January 2013 - 17:28

Can you replace the hdd on the surface? Go from 32 gig to say. 500 gb?


Nope. The solid state NAND chips are soldered to the motherboard.

#125 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 09 January 2013 - 17:28

Can you replace the hdd on the surface? Go from 32 gig to say. 500 gb?

no, the flash memory is not replaceable

just use an SD card if you need more space

#126 neo158

neo158

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-July 02
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional x64; Windows RT 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung ATIV S i8750

Posted 10 January 2013 - 19:34

Checked another demo unit out, this one had the Type Cover. No complaints with it - well spaced, I don't mind the lack of travel as I've been using laptops for so long. Not quite as fond of the trackpad on it though, it could have used the texturing on the Touch Cover. The Touch Cover isn't even flexible though, so I see no practical reason to get it over the Type Cover.


The problem is that they couldn't make it any more flexible than it is already otherwise it wouldn't make a very good keyboard to type on.

#127 Defcon

Defcon

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-November 02

Posted 16 January 2013 - 20:57

I have a Surface and agree somewhat. And I also think WinRT is to blame for a lot of this. There is simply no excuse for Metro apps taking so long to launch, for the Store to show me a blank white screen for seconds, for IE Metro to reload a page every time I hit back. None of this happens on iOS or Android, not until the app is cached out of memory, which is only if I have a ton of pages/apps loaded. I suspect WinRT consumes a lot more memory since it is a full desktop OS after all, and thus everything else suffers.

I had high hopes for the Surface since it was supposed to showcase the touch UI in Windows 8, but in reality it's not that great to use - things like the charms bar, the new task switcher etc are no better as far as usability goes. Surface Pro has a legitimate use case, for people who need full x86 on a portable device. Surface, I'm not so sure, unless you really truly must have Office.

#128 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 16 January 2013 - 21:23

I have a Surface and agree somewhat. And I also think WinRT is to blame for a lot of this. There is simply no excuse for Metro apps taking so long to launch, for the Store to show me a blank white screen for seconds, for IE Metro to reload a page every time I hit back. None of this happens on iOS or Android, not until the app is cached out of memory, which is only if I have a ton of pages/apps loaded. I suspect WinRT consumes a lot more memory since it is a full desktop OS after all, and thus everything else suffers.


oh that is BS. I have an iPad and an Android phone, and neither is instant on these things.
and iOS most definitely reload on back, and yep, so does chrome on android.

Also WinRT is no more a full desktop OS than iOS is. technically both of them are stripped down full desktop OS'

#129 Defcon

Defcon

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-November 02

Posted 16 January 2013 - 22:05

oh that is BS. I have an iPad and an Android phone, and neither is instant on these things.
and iOS most definitely reload on back, and yep, so does chrome on android.

Also WinRT is no more a full desktop OS than iOS is. technically both of them are stripped down full desktop OS'


Really, iOS is a stripped down OSX? Perhaps you'll show me how I can access the desktop on my iPad, or how I can run an OSX program compiled for ARM? WinRT is Windows compiled for ARM, iOS and Android were both written for mobile devices. Maybe you should look at the size the OS takes on the device.

And neither iOS or Android will reload a webpage when you go back. Neither does WP8.

#130 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 16 January 2013 - 22:09

Thats the kicker, WP7 runs circles around RT in certain key areas.

#131 REM2000

REM2000

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-July 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 16 January 2013 - 22:12

Really, iOS is a stripped down OSX? Perhaps you'll show me how I can access the desktop on my iPad, or how I can run an OSX program compiled for ARM? WinRT is Windows compiled for ARM, iOS and Android were both written for mobile devices. Maybe you should look at the size the OS takes on the device.

And neither iOS or Android will reload a webpage when you go back. Neither does WP8.


He is correct Surface uses Windows NT Kernel and some other userland, as does iOS. Just because the UI is not the same doesn't mean that the core of these are based on their full desktop OS counterparts.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IOS

It's a testament to both systems, showing how portable their code bases are that they can both still switch between different CPU architecture

(Windows NT has always been portable (Alpha & Itanium, DEC as well as some other RISC's) as has the core underpinnings of MacOSX Unix which is all about portability.

As for the lag, im not sure i haven't used a Surface yet so cant comment. I think for the majority it depends on what your doing at the time, sometimes my Android (GN 10.1) and my iPad have lagged when changing orientation, most of the time it's pretty instant. The surface problem sounds like it can be fixed through further updates anyway as the hardware doesn't seem to be that underpowered.

#132 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 16 January 2013 - 22:18

Really, iOS is a stripped down OSX? Perhaps you'll show me how I can access the desktop on my iPad, or how I can run an OSX program compiled for ARM? WinRT is Windows compiled for ARM, iOS and Android were both written for mobile devices. Maybe you should look at the size the OS takes on the device.

And neither iOS or Android will reload a webpage when you go back. Neither does WP8.


Maybe you should read up on what iOS actually is, then come back here. because it is in fact a stripped down OSX. and what does the desktop have to do with that ? the Shell is a VERY small part of the OS. you do realize that win 8 runs two shells in parallel, the Modern interface shell and the desktop, side by side under explorer. on RT. RT is technically the only shell, But it's able to run a limited version of an emulated desktop. basically the desktop is just an app. running under explorer.

But both OS' are stripped down minimal versions of their desktop counterparts. If you think the existences of a virtual/emulated desktop is what makes or not makes it a desktop based OS. then you have a few more things to learn about these things.

As for the back thing. Well funny how BOTH my iPad and my Android phone reloaded when I clicked back then... oh because they both do it. Want to see how it looks when a browser DOESN'T reload on back ? install Opera.