Jump to content



Photo

Wireless issues. Please help, I'm out of ideas.


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 xplatinum

xplatinum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-July 02

Posted 13 November 2012 - 01:43

The setup
Cable modem 30mbit/3mbit
Cisco Linksys router WRT160N v3
2 notebook computers

The issue : Wireless speeds (both using wireless and doing speed test from ISP speedtest page)
Notebook(A) can achieve max speed
Notebook(B) often stops in the middle of the test or oscillates between 3mbit and 10mbit (really unstable)

At first I thought it was my channel. I tried them all. Channel 5 gives perfect results on notebook(a) and awful results on notebook(b) which makes no sense at all...
Both notebooks are right beside each other
Both have fresh windows installations without any software doing background transfers

On notebook(a), doing a ping loop on my router gives constant 1ms-5ms
On notebook(a), doing a ping loop on my router while doing the speedtest gives constant 5ms-15ms

On notebook(b), doing a ping loop on my router gives an unstable 10ms-35ms
On notebook(b), doing a ping loop on my router while doing the speedtest gives an unstable 70ms-800ms (huge fluctuations)

I've tried changing the width from 20hz to 40hz.
I've tried all the channels
I've tried Mixed, G-only and N-only
I've tried increasing the TX power (from 71 to 100)
Microwave is off.
Phones aren't in use
Cellphones are in airplane mode
There isn't alot of other wireless signals in my surroundings (3-4 max at a very weak signal strength)

I'm REALLY out of ideas. notebook(b) works GREAT with a wired connection.

Also this recently started occuring. It was working great a couple weeks ago.


#2 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 13 November 2012 - 01:58

If notebook A works fine but B does not, then its likely notebook B which is the problem not the router or the signal, reinstall wireless drivers? Check IP etc is DHCP / try with static IP

#3 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 13 November 2012 - 01:59

Sounds like the wireless adapter in Notebook B is screwed up. Drivers maybe?

#4 OP xplatinum

xplatinum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-July 02

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:02

Wow I tap myself on the back on this. I just found out that the culprit of all my headaches is BLUETOOTH.

After either disabling the device or removing the ability to devices to connect my PC, the problem vanished.

I now max my bandwidth easily. I wonder how it was affecting my wireless signal. Certainly not "outside" the notebook because notebook(a) was not affected by this. It was messing it up internally.

OH WELL :) Thanks for the replies guys

Attached Images

  • Capture.PNG


#5 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:02

oh well you solved this! good job. LOL


but for future ref...:

have you tried a USB adapter? also please try redoing the wlan drivers... use something called driver fusion to completely wipe the drivers and then reinstall using the latest ones from the mfr and see if this helps.

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:03

Wow I tap myself on the back on this. I just found out that the culprit of all my headaches is BLUETOOTH.

After either disabling the device or removing the ability to devices to connect my PC, the problem vanished.

I now max my bandwidth easily. I wonder how it was affecting my wireless signal. Certainly not "outside" the notebook because notebook(a) was not affected by this. It was messing it up internally.

OH WELL :) Thanks for the replies guys


Well done (Y)

#7 +Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 13 November 2012 - 02:08

Glad you got it sorted! (Y)

#8 Digital.K

Digital.K

    Nonplussed.

  • Joined: 05-September 03
  • Location: United States

Posted 14 November 2012 - 22:04

Thanks for posting your fix. That is handy info to hang on to!