Jump to content



Photo

Is this Intel SSD compatible with my motherboard?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 16 November 2012 - 13:43

Hy. I'm trying to improve my overall performance and thought an intel SSD should be a good choice.. decided on 330 series but my main worry is related to compatibility issues that could appear with my old 775 socket mobo (Asus P5ND2-SLI) which doesn't have AHCI and other stuff required.

Should I buy an SSD with this config. or wait for a new platform?
Thanks!


#2 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 16 November 2012 - 13:50

AHCI isn't required, and you'll see speed improvements with an SSD over a spinny-disk, so I see no reason not to get the SSD now and upgrade the mobo when you need to.

#3 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 16 November 2012 - 13:52

Hy. I'm trying to improve my overall performance and thought an intel SSD should be a good choice.. decided on 330 series but my main worry is related to compatibility issues that could appear with my old 775 socket mobo (Asus P5ND2-SLI) which doesn't have AHCI and other stuff required.

Should I buy an SSD with this config. or wait for a new platform?
Thanks!


Any SSD is compatible with any desktop *as long as it supports SATA* - you could add an SSD to a Socket *478* motherboard if you wanted (as long as it had an ICH5R southbridge).

The holdback will be SATA performance limits of the chipset.

That said, if the *chipsert* is the bottleneck, performance will increase as you upgrade motherboards.

#4 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 16 November 2012 - 14:00

some online-stores told me that if required features (sata3/ahci/trim) are not supported by my motherboard there's a % risk of failure :rolleyes: .. also related to their working-life.. read that it's theoretical .. limited, is it?

#5 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 16 November 2012 - 14:04

some online-stores told me that if required features (sata3/ahci/trim) are not supported by my motherboard there's a % risk of failure :rolleyes: .. also related to their working-life.. read that it's theoretical .. limited, is it?


Nope. It will work better if you have SATA 3 and AHCI, but they're not required, nor will they have any impact on the lifespan of the device.

#6 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 16 November 2012 - 14:25

thanks.. finally : do you recommend the 120Gb version or de 60Gb even the difference it's not used? Read that "as full as it gets so slow it will work".. :rolleyes:
In this stage.. my 75Gb C: partition is excess of space for my needs.
Posted Image

#7 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 16 November 2012 - 14:29

GB per $, I think 120 is the best bet these days. The 60s aren't relatively cheaper, and it's nice to have your OS and all major applications on the same drive.

#8 giantpotato

giantpotato

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 04
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Posted 16 November 2012 - 14:39

Without TRIM, the lifespan of the drive will be reduced and you could potentially lose performance once the drive starts getting full, but the drive will still work with your mobo.

#9 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 16 November 2012 - 14:46

so TRIM is a windows 7 feature & it's fully related to AHCI?
found this..

#10 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 16 November 2012 - 20:11

I think that's also a myth and you can have TRIM even if your motherboard is in IDE mode. My motherboard is in RAID mode (although the disks aren't in RAID) and every utility I've tried tells me TRIM is enabled.

Windows 7 is the first version of Windows that supports TRIM.

#11 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:08

get the largest size you can afford - one factor in performance/longevity is spare storage size due to the way SSDs work and larger drives have larger extra space AND you won't be filling up as much.

I think that's also a myth and you can have TRIM even if your motherboard is in IDE mode. My motherboard is in RAID mode (although the disks aren't in RAID) and every utility I've tried tells me TRIM is enabled.

Windows 7 is the first version of Windows that supports TRIM.


RAID only recently got TRIM support

#12 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:40

get the largest size you can afford - one factor in performance/longevity is spare storage size due to the way SSDs work and larger drives have larger extra space AND you won't be filling up as much.



RAID only recently got TRIM support


No, what recently got TRIM support is when your RAID controller has disks in RAID and disks not in RAID, the disks not in RAID get TRIM. RAID controllers which have no disks in RAID have been TRIMming ever since I have had my SSDs which is well over a year now.

#13 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 17 November 2012 - 03:37

Without TRIM, the lifespan of the drive will be reduced and you could potentially lose performance once the drive starts getting full, but the drive will still work with your mobo.


Just don't constantly crank through files on it and it will be in better shape either way. Point downloads and stuff to a secondary HDD. I keep all my spreadsheets and documents on my SSD though.

#14 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 17 November 2012 - 03:41

I'm on a 6-year old BTX based machine. I have an Intel SSD in it...and TRIM works just fine.

Trust me...it's not an issue.

#15 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 17 November 2012 - 18:59

Just don't constantly crank through files on it and it will be in better shape either way. Point downloads and stuff to a secondary HDD. I keep all my spreadsheets and documents on my SSD though.

writing is the problem.. not reading from it. I still need detailed info on risks using no-ahci (no-trim) mobo's with ssd's.

I'm on a 6-year old BTX based machine. I have an Intel SSD in it...and TRIM works just fine.

your 6'year old BTX based machine could have AHCI which brings TRIM? My mobo seems to have almost the same age.. and it doesn't.