Jump to content



Photo

Orange Home Broadband Torrent & Usenet Issues - HELP


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 matthewmarley

matthewmarley

    “Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer”

  • Joined: 27-April 05
  • Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Posted 23 November 2012 - 20:29

Hey guys

Need some help.

I have recently switched broadband provider here in the UK from O2 to Orange/T-Mobile/EE, dont know what the hell they are branding the broadband under. Anyway, everything has been fine I have been getting 11meg which I'm happy about as I was initially only quoted 8 because I'm in a new property.

However, I cant download anything using torrents or usenet. I use astraweb and it works fine when im at my parents house, but when Im at home I cant even even getting dial up speeds and only seems to be these services that are having problems, streaming is fine and when I run a check on speedtest I am getting the full 11meg.

Has anyone else had a problem like this or is there something that I can do to fix this?

Matthew


#2 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 23 November 2012 - 20:30

Most likely throttling. To continue you'd probably need a VPN.

#3 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Windows 10\Ubuntu
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 23 November 2012 - 20:34

For Astraweb, use ssl and port 563. it might fix it..

#4 gorebrush

gorebrush

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-October 12

Posted 23 November 2012 - 20:35

Yeah - not surprised, Orange have always been a very poor ISP in my opinion.

Out of interest why did you leave O2? They are amongst the best (again, in my opinion)

As stated above, you will probably need to VPN your traffic so that your ISP won't see it and packet shape it

#5 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    "the sun is definitely rising on a new dawn!"

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 23 November 2012 - 20:36

http://www.usenetsha...ket-inspection/

#6 OP matthewmarley

matthewmarley

    “Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer”

  • Joined: 27-April 05
  • Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Posted 23 November 2012 - 20:48

The only reason I left 02 was because I had switched mobile carrier and was having to pay full price where if I went with T-Mobile it would only be £8

What a big mistake, maybe ill ditch astaweb and go back to Giganews. I was with Giganews for years and never had any issues, again I was just trying to save some ££££ looks like they give you access to more ports, that wont be throttled, hopefully this will work. If I can get that working, great. I'm not that worried about Bit Torrent.

Its true what they say after all, dont try and fix something that's not broken :(

#7 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 23 November 2012 - 20:49

uTorrent: random port, Set: Forced Encryption, Disable: Allow incoming legacy connections, restart router and uTorrent client.

#8 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    "the sun is definitely rising on a new dawn!"

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 23 November 2012 - 20:52

Try http://www.hitnews.com for a free 3 day trial.

#9 OP matthewmarley

matthewmarley

    “Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer”

  • Joined: 27-April 05
  • Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Posted 23 November 2012 - 21:10

Thanks ill check that out.

#10 MagicMan

MagicMan

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-May 03
  • Location: Somewhere in the UK

Posted 24 November 2012 - 20:08

They throttle P2P and NNTP between 5pm and 1am or something. I used to use Astraweb on 443 and didn't get throttled because they couldn't distinguish the traffic between normal web traffic over HTTP.