Jump to content



Photo

Neowin: A speed bump on the Information Superhighway.

bug

  • Please log in to reply
125 replies to this topic

#1 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:22

Sorry, guys.
It has just become too much to bear.

As much as I love this site, it has become too flaky.
Speed wise as regards posting (the de facto reason for this forum's existence), it has just become too painful.

At one moment, the site works beautifully. At another, it is a chore to update a post.
Sorry to say this, but this problem is non-existent on the other sites I visit on a daily basis.

This has been a major problem on Neowin for a long time now.
The site admins do not acknowledge that there is a problem, hence nothing is done to rectify it.

If this continues. without an explanatoin or acknowledgement, then bye bye.


#2 yowanvista

yowanvista

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-February 10
  • Location: Mauritius
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit
  • Phone: i9001-CM11-KitKat 4.4.4 - Kernel 3.4.102

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:35

I have to agree on this one. The main site isn't that slow, it's rather the whole forum. Saving posts takes around 30 seconds.

#3 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:39

I agree. the problem does seem to be with the forums. The main site is fine.

#4 OP Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:41

I agree. the problem does seem to be with the forums. The main site is fine.


Exactly.

#5 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:45

To say we don't know about the issue at hand is a bit sad. We do, its just don't think anyone currently knows what the cause of it is or how to fix it.

#6 OP Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:50

To say we don't know about the issue at hand is a bit sad. We do, its just don't think anyone currently knows what the cause of it is or how to fix it.


Agreed. But is anything being done about it?
Given that you know there's a problem, what steps are being taken to address it?
I mean, saying no one knows the cause of it is a pretty lame excuse, considering the problem has been there for months now.

We can drop Curiosity on Mars with pinpoint precision from a quarter of a billion miles away, even with a seven second time lag preventing us from being truly "live", and a group of dedicated programmers back here on Earth is befuddled by an update lag on their servers?

#7 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:56

I wouldn't say it's unbearable . Isn't it Facebook being a douche though?

#8 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:57

To say we don't know about the issue at hand is a bit sad. We do, its just don't think anyone currently knows what the cause of it is or how to fix it.


I know you guys do your best. I had a car back when I was a teen that had some problem that no one could ever figure out. My only option in the end was to get a better car.

#9 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:59

I know you guys do your best. I had a car back when I was a teen that had some problem that no one could ever figure out. My only option in the end was to get a better car.


Believe me when I say, everyone here would like to replace IPB lol

#10 OP Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 02 December 2012 - 05:00

Believe me when I say, everyone here would like to replace IPB lol


Then why don't you?

Finances? Take up a collection. I'd be glad to contribute.

#11 +SharpGreen

SharpGreen

    Now with built-in BS detector.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Ubuntu 14.04, 12.04 and Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Nexus

Posted 02 December 2012 - 05:18

Believe me when I say, everyone here would like to replace IPB lol

There was talk a while back (I thought) about doing that. What happened?

#12 OP Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 02 December 2012 - 05:49

On another note:

If i reply to several posts, my responses appear as a multi-response post.
That is not what I intended. If I reply to a post, I would like that only that post is quoted in my response.
Again, this worked fine before. What happened?

#13 jakem1

jakem1

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 17-November 06

Posted 02 December 2012 - 05:53

On another note:

If i reply to several posts, my responses appear as a multi-response post.
That is not what I intended. If I reply to a post, I would like that only that post is quoted in my response.
Again, this worked fine before. What happened?


AFAIK, the forums have always grouped multiple, separate responses into a single post if you reply quickly enough and no body else posts at the same time.

#14 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 76
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 02 December 2012 - 09:32

AFAIK, the forums have always grouped multiple, separate responses into a single post if you reply quickly enough and no body else posts at the same time.


Yep, and as for the other issue about speed, it's still being looked into.

#15 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 02 December 2012 - 09:37

There are several other major sites that deal with IPB just fine though so don't be quick to blame them.