Jump to content



Photo

GPU for farcry 3


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:49

I currently have 2 6870. But was wondering if I would get better performance with one really good card. Any thoughts? Just bought farcry 3 and want to play on ultra. My current cards struggle a little . I could turn the graphics down, but, well once you’ve seen how beautiful this game is its very difficult to do that!! Lol

full spec in sig


#2 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:58

No, Far Cry 3 is pretty demanding no matter the GPU. 1080p maxed out settings on a £375 GTX680 still only manages 35fps

#3 Decebalvs Rex

Decebalvs Rex

    Transylvanian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-March 12
  • Location: Romania
  • OS: Windows 7 64-Bit Home Premium SP1
  • Phone: HTC HD2 WP 7.8

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:02

You could run for an nVidia gtx 670 for max details and smooth gameplay. I ran Far Cry 3 with everything on ultra excluding AA wich instead of 8x was 4x @ 41 FPS average on a GTX 570 , respectively 1920/1080 resolution. Even 660ti would perform well I'd say if your budget is tight.

#4 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:05

budget isnt too tight... intital thoughts are two 6990s to replace my two 6870s. might look into the nvidias you speak of too, but dont really know too much about them.

#5 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:06

Posted Image
Is it worth spending the money?

#6 Jub Fequois

Jub Fequois

    Owlblood

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: OS X, Windows
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:15

I'm running FarCry 3 on a single GTX 670 with everything maxed out and there isn't as much as a hiccup. This is my favourite card since the 8800GT came out.

I have a 7970 in my other computer, but while it's technically a faster card, I hate it. The drivers suck and it's hot and noisy like a jet fighter.

#7 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8/Ubuntu Home: Hackintosh

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:17

I have a 7950 2G version and I have Far Cry 3 on Ultra. The card only cost me about £120 last month

#8 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:19

what about AA, you guys got that turned off?

#9 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:24

I have a GTX680 SLI and game at 2560x1600. With everything maxed out, except for anti-aliasing (at 2x) I get decent performance - I hit 60fps a lot of the time but there are some very noticeably performance drops and the slow down seems rather inconsistent. I'm expecting updated graphics drivers and a patch or two will address most of the issues.

It's a very demanding game but the visuals are the best I've seen. It easily blows Crysis / Crysis 2 out of the water.

#10 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:39

ye, was looknig at the GTX680, and dualing them up like you have done. be pretty expensive though! saying that, i will have two 6870s to sell too!

#11 Jub Fequois

Jub Fequois

    Owlblood

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: OS X, Windows
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:11

what about AA, you guys got that turned off?


I have it on 4x. I can't tell you the exact FPS because I haven't checked, but I'm very picky about performance so I'd say it's rather good. I also have HBAO enabled.

From what I hear, SLI/Crossfire is rarely worth it due to all the issues people have with it. I'd rather go for a single top-end card - at least it'll give you the option to double up when it's needed.

#12 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:13

cheers Jub. might just go for a single GTX 680 then.... i'll be an AMD convert lol

#13 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:46

From what I hear, SLI/Crossfire is rarely worth it due to all the issues people have with it. I'd rather go for a single top-end card - at least it'll give you the option to double up when it's needed.


If you want to game at 2560x1600 then SLI / Crossfire is the only option and for me it's worth it. While a number of games have SLI issues at launch they are usually corrected pretty quickly and the performance more than makes up for it.

#14 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:50

decided to go for the 7970. slighlty cheaper than the gtx 680. hopefully the additional 2 GB vram will make a huge difference

#15 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 04 December 2012 - 14:07

bought gigabyte 7970 from Dabs for £283.09. Ebuyer are selling the same card for 315. I used promo code "MVC20" to get 20 quid of the price too. on top of this it comes with 4 free games Dirt Showdown, Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution, Sleeping Dogs FREE

thats a bargain!