My first PS touchup.

Hey guys. I have been playing with PS for a few days, trying to do color corrections and stuff. I am just a beginner and here is something I did.

be284ce0759b4293cfd4a657f77e1054.JPG

to

c438229a186efb4098ea8336ce2c51a8.JPG

Showed it to my mother and she said, the first one is better and I have just made it worse by blur and darkening, while that was the look I was going for. Blur was to create DOF as the camera was just a point and shoot. But I thought having to explain the work is a failure, I should be saying my thoughts by work. So, would like your thoughts if I am on the right track. Feel free to criticize as I wanna learn.

Maybe use the freehand selection tool to go around areas and have it so the background is blurred, and have the person and tree not blurred, something like that.

I used to be very big into graphics design at one time, but been a long time now. Mostly application graphics, web design, skins, visual styles, etc. etc. but some photo work.

You really crushed the blacks and actually removed depth.

I like the look, but this is not a touchup.

What do you mean by crushed the blacks?

I wanted to create a shallow DOF.

Okay, I don't exactly know the terms. :D So, what will be this called, giving a different look to photo? Is there a term?

BTW, thanks for your response. :)

I actually like both, but for me the first one is excellent. Nice attempt at getting the shallow depth of field but I would say that too much detail is missing, not that I could do any better, just my thoughts on what I see.

A lot of people don't appreciate surreal stuff or graphics MEANT to be different.... they don't have enough imagination to appreciate stuff...

I love the 2nd pic and it has a very calming and a healing presence in it. You can sense the depth in the person as well..

another reason I left the graphics market. I got fed up with some really cold barren people.