• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

Everybody Lies.

• 1,676 posts
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 07 December 2012 - 05:50

Hey guys. I have been playing with PS for a few days, trying to do color corrections and stuff. I am just a beginner and here is something I did.

Posted Image

to

Posted Image

Showed it to my mother and she said, the first one is better and I have just made it worse by blur and darkening, while that was the look I was going for. Blur was to create DOF as the camera was just a point and shoot. But I thought having to explain the work is a failure, I should be saying my thoughts by work. So, would like your thoughts if I am on the right track. Feel free to criticize as I wanna learn.

#2 LUTZIFER

LUTZIFER

Resident Evil

• 2,676 posts
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:18

Maybe use the freehand selection tool to go around areas and have it so the background is blurred, and have the person and tree not blurred, something like that.
I used to be very big into graphics design at one time, but been a long time now. Mostly application graphics, web design, skins, visual styles, etc. etc. but some photo work.

#3 OP -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

Everybody Lies.

• 1,676 posts

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:34

Did it for the person but yes, now I think the big tree to the left should not have been blurred. Thanks! :)

#4 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

Neowinian Senior

• 2,243 posts

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:39

You really crushed the blacks and actually removed depth.

I like the look, but this is not a touchup.

#5 OP -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

Everybody Lies.

• 1,676 posts

Posted 07 December 2012 - 06:46

You really crushed the blacks and actually removed depth.

I like the look, but this is not a touchup.

What do you mean by crushed the blacks?

I wanted to create a shallow DOF.