Jump to content



Photo

2011 MBP RAM Question

Answered Go to the full post early 2011 mbp macbook pro ram 16gb

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 darkz

darkz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-January 05
  • Location: Heaven

Posted 16 December 2012 - 13:12

I want to upgrade an early 2011 Macbook Pro, it's running a little too slow.
It officially supports 8Gb, but some people say it can run 16Gb just fine.
Replacing the RAM after purchase would be a relatively huge hassle for me.
So if anyone has already done this (put 16g in early 2011) on their MBP, I would love to hear your experiences.

Best Answer +Matthew S. , 30 April 2013 - 06:14

You MBP will support 16GB fine. I have a Late 2011 15" MBP and it has 16GB in it. even my Late 2009 13" MacBook only officially supported 4GB but I put in 8GB and it worked fine :D Go to the full post



#2 Gotenks98

Gotenks98

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-December 01

Posted 16 December 2012 - 18:09

I want to upgrade an early 2011 Macbook Pro, it's running a little too slow.
It officially supports 8Gb, but some people say it can run 16Gb just fine.
Replacing the RAM after purchase would be a relatively huge hassle for me.
So if anyone has already done this (put 16g in early 2011) on their MBP, I would love to hear your experiences.

How is it a huge hassle? Its as simple as remove 8 screws on the bottom and swap out the ram chips. Nothing hard about that.

#3 TrekRich

TrekRich

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 03
  • Location: England

Posted 17 December 2012 - 21:51

I did mine 3 days ago and its worked great! typing the message on it right now. I went to kingston

http://www.kingston....cesType=Desktop

You have to choose notebook from the menu and then it recommends what you need. I only put in the 8 gig in mine, yes it might run 16gb but i would rather stick with a supported configuration. I have had kingston for years, and its been great RAM. You might be able to put 16 gig in it but what happens if you boot into os x and it only shows 8 gig? I would save the difference for coffee!

#4 OP darkz

darkz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-January 05
  • Location: Heaven

Posted 28 April 2013 - 21:02

With "replacing" I meant getting the shop to take back my 16GB and replace them with 8GB in case it turned out my mbp doesn't support them.
Got 16GB of Kingston working for half a year now, great, if the next OS X is not going to be any more memory hungry, then you're right about the coffee.
It's a good thing there isn't much going on in the Mac Discussions, else I wouldn't have found this post.

#5 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    Your worst nightmare

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.10.x iOS 8
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 30 April 2013 - 06:14   Best Answer

You MBP will support 16GB fine. I have a Late 2011 15" MBP and it has 16GB in it. even my Late 2009 13" MacBook only officially supported 4GB but I put in 8GB and it worked fine :D

#6 Gotenks98

Gotenks98

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-December 01

Posted 30 April 2013 - 13:11

I actually just did this over the weekend to a MBP and a Mac Mini. Both bumped up to 16gb of ram. They are running just fine.

#7 Mr Nom Nom's

Mr Nom Nom's

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • OS: OS X 10.10.1
  • Phone: iPhone 6 128GB

Posted 02 May 2013 - 04:50

I want to upgrade an early 2011 Macbook Pro, it's running a little too slow.
It officially supports 8Gb, but some people say it can run 16Gb just fine.
Replacing the RAM after purchase would be a relatively huge hassle for me.
So if anyone has already done this (put 16g in early 2011) on their MBP, I would love to hear your experiences.


If you're doing it because it is a 'little slow' then I think you're better off maybe checking the computer, clean install, what applications you have running in the background - maybe investing in an SSD maybe a better investment and then putting the old rotating disk in an external hard disk case (maybe an external hard disk case with Thunderbolt?).

#8 alisalem

alisalem

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-July 08
  • Location: Dubai, UAE
  • OS: OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 (16GB Black)

Posted 04 May 2013 - 18:49

Your Mac supports 16GB, however, RAM alone is not really a performance improvement.. Get the RAM and an SSD and you'll be happy, guaranteed!