Jump to content



Photo

Best "out-of-the-box" codec for a video?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 19 December 2012 - 18:48

Im making a video with Camtasia Studio and Im wondering what is the best codec for use out of the box (without installing other codecs) on at least Windows XP and above.

Thanks!


#2 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 19 December 2012 - 18:48

MP4 AVC AAC (if you dump XP) otherwise youll be stuck with MPEG2 video

#3 OP pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 19 December 2012 - 23:11

MPEG2 video

Whats the best way to install a encoder for MPEG2 video that works with Camtasia Studio?

#4 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 19 December 2012 - 23:19

AFIK you don't need to, export to avi.

#5 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 19 December 2012 - 23:20

I'm converting a video now, into MP2 -- hope the audio sync turns out right. :laugh:

#6 OP pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 19 December 2012 - 23:21

AFIK you don't need to, export to avi.

What do I select in the Video Compression option?

#7 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 19 December 2012 - 23:21

Not a fan of Camtasia i just install Camstudio if its for windows recording as its free, lightweight and easy as hell to use!
If its game recording then i install Playclaw.
As for codecs ive always had to search hard for one that i really like as in quality and compression rate think the one i normally end up with is FFDShow Mpeg4 but i could be wrong as for Windows XP and Mpeg 2 i have no idea thats a little too dated now :/

#8 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 19 December 2012 - 23:56

What do I select in the Video Compression option?


Divx or xvid.

#9 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 20 December 2012 - 00:03

Why don't you make a mp4 or mkv avc aac using avidmux and then use mpc home cinema to read it. No need to install any codec and you got the best quality.

#10 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 20 December 2012 - 02:02

Handbrake for conversion software.

#11 OP pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 20 December 2012 - 19:02

Why don't you make a mp4 or mkv avc aac using avidmux and then use mpc home cinema to read it. No need to install any codec and you got the best quality.

No. Has to be a codec that is built into Windows since at least XP.....

#12 hckngrtfakt

hckngrtfakt

    GFX n00b

  • Joined: 08-March 12
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • OS: Win8
  • Phone: iPhone

Posted 20 December 2012 - 19:13

Im making a video with Camtasia Studio and Im wondering what is the best codec for use out of the box (without installing other codecs) on at least Windows XP and above.

Thanks!


WMV which will play in technically any version of windows.
or MKV/MP4 (based off the H.264 encoding) wich is very standard and plays well even on Macs
(except for the MKV)

#13 Mordkanin

Mordkanin

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-February 04

Posted 20 December 2012 - 19:28

Windows XP doesn't come with a H.264 decoder. It's olllld.

#14 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 20 December 2012 - 19:40

No. Has to be a codec that is built into Windows since at least XP.....


But why does it have to be built inside windows ?

MPCHC is a nice video player. Better than wmp imo as a video player.

#15 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 20 December 2012 - 20:34

MP4 H.264 seems like it is support best on everything other than Windows XP.

iPhone, Windows Phone, Android, Mac, Linux, XBox360, Apple TV, PS3 it works on all of those...

xvid/divx are not as universally supported and require the user to install codecs. I don't encode in those anymore.