Jump to content



Photo

PSU dying?

psu

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 27 December 2012 - 13:37

I was playing a game last night and the whole system suddenly shutdown on me. Not a BSOD, but a complete shutdown. The only thing I know of that can do that is when the system gets too hot, and it has to shutdown to protect itself. I do not think it is due to this, I have my suspicions that the PSU is going bad due to a fairly new HDD suddenly failing. Could I be correct in my theory that the PSU could be causing this? I am plugged into a UPS, and it did not shut off when the system did, so I know that the issue is isolated to the PC alone.


#2 Wyrdstorm

Wyrdstorm

    IT_Dogsbody

  • Joined: 08-February 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: MS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 27 December 2012 - 13:57

That is a strange one! How old is the existing PSU? What size PSU is it? (Watts) I have seen this happen and it has been the PSU at fault, so you are correct in guessing it could be this, Have you put any new hardware in recently? or replaced any? - If you go into the BIOS, does it show how many watts your using at all? Or does it show the other possible issue, temperature?

#3 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 27 December 2012 - 14:29

The psu is around 5 years old, its a 700 watt ocz mod-xtreme, no new hardware installed.

aida64.PNG

#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 27 December 2012 - 14:44

What are the temps like when you are gaming?

#5 JJ_

JJ_

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 31-July 05

Posted 27 December 2012 - 14:51

What is your ambient room temp? If that Aida SS was for idle temps, I would be concerned about what temps you would be hitting after running at 80%+ load for 30+ mins

#6 Klownicle

Klownicle

    I get a custom title? Sweett.

  • Joined: 22-June 02

Posted 27 December 2012 - 14:55

If that was idle, that chipset looks awefully high. Run some Prime95 and see how those temps look. Check your fans, clean your case of all dust (remove case front face plate and clear out dust), and then clear up any heatsinks of dust).

#7 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 27 December 2012 - 15:00

Even your GPU is high for being idle :/

...assuming that's idle temps.

#8 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 27 December 2012 - 15:08

Run a CPU testing program, available on the internet.

http://www.computerh...es/ch001089.htm

To test whether this is an overheating problem, leave the case open, and blow air in with a floor fan.

If the computer does not shut down, while you are running a game, then it is a heat problem.

Then work on a better cooling system, starting with regooping your CPU with new thermal paste.

The only test for a PSU problem, is to put in a new one. :/

#9 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 27 December 2012 - 15:12

Are you overclocking? Your sig says Phenom II X4 @ 3.5ghz.

#10 mduren2445

mduren2445

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 06

Posted 27 December 2012 - 15:13

If you have the slightest doubt in the psu I would consider replacing it asap before it dies completely and takes other things with it You said "I have my suspicions that the PSU is going bad due to a fairly new HDD suddenly failing", I would constantly backup new information you cannot replace till you nail this problem down as a precaution Good luck ...................... In addition a new psu is relatively inexpensive...same brand about $90 on Newegg

#11 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 27 December 2012 - 22:37

What is your ambient room temp? If that Aida SS was for idle temps, I would be concerned about what temps you would be hitting after running at 80%+ load for 30+ mins

~70F (This is Florida still! :))

If that was idle, that chipset looks awefully high. Run some Prime95 and see how those temps look. Check your fans, clean your case of all dust (remove case front face plate and clear out dust), and then clear up any heatsinks of dust).

Sorry, at the time those were not idle temps, I have included a new screenshot.

Even your GPU is high for being idle :/

...assuming that's idle temps.

Again, those were not idle temps, my fault! :/

Are you overclocking? Your sig says Phenom II X4 @ 3.5ghz.

Yes, by a half ghz, have been for over 4 years, with no real problems.

If you have the slightest doubt in the psu I would consider replacing it asap before it dies completely and takes other things with it You said "I have my suspicions that the PSU is going bad due to a fairly new HDD suddenly failing", I would constantly backup new information you cannot replace till you nail this problem down as a precaution Good luck ...................... In addition a new psu is relatively inexpensive...same brand about $90 on Newegg

Indeed, I have two cloud backup programs running to keep all important data from the windows drive, I also have 3 other HDD's that I have some stuff stored on. I plan on getting a new PSU within the next month or so, should I stick with OCZ or is there any better companies?
New temp screenshot from idle now!
temps.PNG

#12 mduren2445

mduren2445

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 06

Posted 28 December 2012 - 01:19

everyone will have their opinions but if ocz has served you well then continue with the brand when you get a new one

#13 JJ_

JJ_

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 31-July 05

Posted 28 December 2012 - 02:40

It depends what brand OEM OCZ use to rebrand as their PSU's. They had a pretty bad record until they came out with the Mod Xtreme range. As comparison, my Corsair PSU has done a similar 5 year service to the your PSU without skipping a beat. Sadly your out of luck with 3 year warranty.

The CPU idle temps still concern me. When was the last time you applied paste to your CPU and how is the airflow in your case? I have 4 case fans with a similar ambient room temp and here are my temps

Posted Image

Save yourself forking out for a new PSU because it might not be at fault. Take your PC apart and give it a good clean. Put your ear next to the PSU and make sure it isn't making any odd sounds. Check your paste and if its old and rotten, clean it and re-apply. It could really be anything but I suspect your CPU turned off after hitting Tj. Max. Not sure but your GPU may also be overheating however I might be wrong as you would normally see a BSOD if it did