Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:07

Hi guys. You see, I used more than a month ago, Stardoc's Decor8 to customize the start screen's background. I return it to the original and uninstalled it.

Afterwards, I reinstalled it to see if my expiration time wasn't over (I wasn't aware the time I installed it). Boom, it was over!

Seems that Decor8 rewrote the base feature of the Start Sceen and I can't get to change the solid background color from the Start Screen, is there a way to reset it and turn it back to normal?


Thanks :p


#2 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:16

Have you tried a reset, sorry refresh?

#3 OP Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:18

Have you tried a reset, sorry refresh?

:s.I don't want to lose any installed progs.

I would like to find a reg hack way...

#4 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:33

:s.I don't want to lose any installed progs.

I would like to find a reg hack way...


Refresh should work without removing any files/apps. I may be wrong here, though. It should work to restore crucial system files.

#5 OP Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:50

Refresh should work without removing any files/apps. I may be wrong here, though. It should work to restore crucial system files.


Thanks for the help, but found the workaround:

Since I'm going to start using Windows 8 Start Screen Customizer, I saw the follwoing post:
To travel to this directory:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
and set this key
"Userinit"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\userinit.exe,"

Then I restarted, and boom, back to normal.

Do not know, if the restart would have been enough :p (never did it before I guess XD)

#6 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 06 January 2013 - 13:50

sfc /scannow may have worked also?

glad you got it fixed though

#7 Azies

Azies

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-January 10

Posted 06 January 2013 - 14:52

Glad you fixed it, hopefully the lesson of "Don't touch Stardock products" should be well sunken in now. I nearly bricked my start screen as well by doing the 30 day free trial, removed it and fixed it immediately.