Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:07

Hi guys. You see, I used more than a month ago, Stardoc's Decor8 to customize the start screen's background. I return it to the original and uninstalled it.

Afterwards, I reinstalled it to see if my expiration time wasn't over (I wasn't aware the time I installed it). Boom, it was over!

Seems that Decor8 rewrote the base feature of the Start Sceen and I can't get to change the solid background color from the Start Screen, is there a way to reset it and turn it back to normal?


Thanks :p


#2 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:16

Have you tried a reset, sorry refresh?

#3 OP Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:18

Have you tried a reset, sorry refresh?

:s.I don't want to lose any installed progs.

I would like to find a reg hack way...

#4 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:33

:s.I don't want to lose any installed progs.

I would like to find a reg hack way...


Refresh should work without removing any files/apps. I may be wrong here, though. It should work to restore crucial system files.

#5 OP Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:50

Refresh should work without removing any files/apps. I may be wrong here, though. It should work to restore crucial system files.


Thanks for the help, but found the workaround:

Since I'm going to start using Windows 8 Start Screen Customizer, I saw the follwoing post:
To travel to this directory:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
and set this key
"Userinit"="C:\\Windows\\system32\\userinit.exe,"

Then I restarted, and boom, back to normal.

Do not know, if the restart would have been enough :p (never did it before I guess XD)

#6 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 06 January 2013 - 13:50

sfc /scannow may have worked also?

glad you got it fixed though

#7 Azies

Azies

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-January 10

Posted 06 January 2013 - 14:52

Glad you fixed it, hopefully the lesson of "Don't touch Stardock products" should be well sunken in now. I nearly bricked my start screen as well by doing the 30 day free trial, removed it and fixed it immediately.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!