Jump to content



Photo

Very high RAM usage after Battlefield 3

bf3 battlefield 3 ram

  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#16 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 06 January 2013 - 19:46

OK, I've tried with Chrome closed and most things from my tray (less than I have on startup when I use not much RAM) and it's still above 80%. Here's Task Manager:
Posted Image

I just don't know why it's not going down, I've never had this problem before.


#17 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 19:49

OK, I've tried with Chrome closed and most things from my tray (less than I have on startup when I use not much RAM) and it's still above 80%. Here's Task Manager:
Posted Image

I just don't know why it's not going down, I've never had this problem before.


I can't see that image

Have you scanned for malware (Malwarebytes)

Have you ran a RAM test such as Memtest86+ ?

What do you have enabled in MSCONFIG ? (Start > Run > msconfig > startup tab)

#18 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 06 January 2013 - 19:54

I can't see that image

Have you scanned for malware (Malwarebytes)

Have you ran a RAM test such as Memtest86+ ?

What do you have enabled in MSCONFIG ? (Start > Run > msconfig > startup tab)

Fffff, here are the 2 images:
http://gyazo.com/90a...43126cc56f37041
http://gyazo.com/328...d7114c4a3ee801c

I have scanned yesterday, nothing here.

I haven't run a memory test, is this a sign of dying RAM? It doesn't seem like it :/

In MsConfig, I have it like this:
Posted Image

#19 notchinese

notchinese

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-October 12

Posted 06 January 2013 - 19:59

Is it only after playing BF3? As someone else mentioned, sounds like a driver memory leak somewhere. That won't show up in the task manager.

#20 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 19:59

No it doesn't sound like dying RAM

I don't see any Metro apps running in those shots, they can sit in the background too

#21 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:01

No it doesn't sound like dying RAM

I don't see any Metro apps running in those shots, they can sit in the background too

I never ever use Metro apps, I have the Start8 Start Menu so I can avoid the Metro Start Screen :p

#22 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:03

I never ever use Metro apps, I have the Start8 Start Menu so I can avoid the Metro Start Screen :p


Im running out of ideas as nothing is showing in the task manager

Does it happen if you boot in safe mode?

Bit more complicated getting there in 8

Metro UI > Settings > General > Scroll down to advanced startup > navigate through the next boot options to enter safe mode

F8 doesn't work booting 8

#23 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:07

Im running out of ideas as nothing is showing in the task manager

Does it happen if you boot in safe mode?

Bit more complicated getting there in 8

Metro UI > Settings > General > Scroll down to advanced startup > navigate through the next boot options to enter safe mode

F8 doesn't work booting 8

If I go in Safe Mode I'm not sure Battlefield 3 will start :/

#24 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:08

If I go in Safe Mode I'm not sure Battlefield 3 will start :/


Not to play BF3, just to see if your RAM use is back to normal idling without running anything

Possible a driver is doing it and safe mode only loads essential drivers, not 3rd party ones

#25 ArialBlue

ArialBlue

    var lulz;

  • Joined: 24-June 10
  • Location: Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • OS: Windows Master Race

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:13

Driver related memory consumption is NOT shown in the Task Manager.

Also you have a bunch of crap running in the background - clean your computer from time to time.

Edited by ArialBlue, 06 January 2013 - 20:13.


#26 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:15

Not to play BF3, just to see if your RAM use is back to normal idling without running anything

Possible a driver is doing it and safe mode only loads essential drivers, not 3rd party ones

It's fine if I restart now, it's just puzzling me why Battlefield is causing it to rise and stick at this :/

Driver related memory consumption is NOT shown in the Task Manager.

It must be something driver related, but I don't know why it doesn't happen on some other games though, unless it's a strange Battlefield bug :/

#27 Tony.

Tony.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 05
  • Location: Liverpool, UK
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:15

It's not 'dying' RAM, go into your Device Manager and disable the 'Turn off Write Cache buffer flushing on device'. I've had this issue before and it came down to Windows holding all the most used files (which are huge) in the memory. :)

#28 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:23

It's not 'dying' RAM, go into your Device Manager and disable the 'Turn off Write Cache buffer flushing on device'. I've had this issue before and it came down to Windows holding all the most used files (which are huge) in the memory. :)


Is this a Win 8 only thing? or did you miss out which device to disable it on ?

(Running 7)

#29 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:24

It's not 'dying' RAM, go into your Device Manager and disable the 'Turn off Write Cache buffer flushing on device'. I've had this issue before and it came down to Windows holding all the most used files (which are huge) in the memory. :)

...I'm on Device Manager, but where do I find that option? :/

#30 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:26

Ah HDD properties has that option under Policies