Jump to content



Photo

Very high RAM usage after Battlefield 3

bf3 battlefield 3 ram

  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#31 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:27

Let's see your "Performance" tab...


#32 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:32

Let's see your "Performance" tab...

Posted Image

There :)

#33 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:34

Close all your apps running in the tray and background, then give us another Details and Performance tab screenshot.

#34 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:37

Disk 0 usage @ 51% ?

#35 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:39

Disk 0 usage @ 51% ?


There's way too many 3rd party apps running in the background and minimized to troubleshot this properly.

#36 ArialBlue

ArialBlue

    var lulz;

  • Joined: 24-June 10
  • Location: Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • OS: Windows Master Race

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:40

^
It is called trashing. He ran out of memory and now Windows is raping his hard drive.
His Commited amount is 10GB!

I want to see the Control Panel\System and Security\System
(In Explorer, Right Click On "Computer", Select "Properties")
Under "System"
the installed RAM and the Usable Amount.

How to clean boot
WINKEY+R
Type in "MSCONFIG"
Go to Services tab
Check "Hide all Microsoft Services"
Click "Disable All"

In task manager,
disable all things that start up

reboot

Edited by ArialBlue, 06 January 2013 - 20:42.


#37 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:42

There's way too many 3rd party apps running in the background and minimized to troubleshot this properly.


Yep, agreed, but for disk usage to be 51% there is either a disk problem, or because he is running out of physical RAM, its fallen back on the pagefile

Or he his transferring files during screenshots

^
It is called trashing. He ran out of memory and now Windows is raping his hard drive.

I want to see the Control Panel\System and Security\System
(In Explorer, Right Click On "Computer", Select "Properties")
Under "System"
the installed RAM and the Usable Amount.

How to clean boot
WINKEY+R
Type in "MSCONFIG"
Go to Services tab
Check "Hide all Microsoft Services"
Click "Disable All"

In task manager,
disable all things that start up

reboot


Yep, I just replied as you did :)

#38 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:43

Curious if his page file is even turned on, was that mentioned by him yet?

#39 ArialBlue

ArialBlue

    var lulz;

  • Joined: 24-June 10
  • Location: Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • OS: Windows Master Race

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:46

Curious if his page file is even turned on, was that mentioned by him yet?

His Committed is 10GB. That number would not go above 4GB if there is no page file.
I am now more or less convinced he just need to clean boot - looking at the task manager, no indication of a driver problem.

Edited by ArialBlue, 06 January 2013 - 20:49.


#40 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:52

Check the Event Logs, there could be something in there with a ! or Error or Critical note next to it

Event Viewer > Windows Logs > System

Also check applications etc

#41 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:53

Just got a BSOD and my connection keeps going which is why I'm not responding. My blue screen gave an error DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION. I haven't looked that up yet, after this reply I will.

I took some screenshots of when I closed everything which are below. My memory usage now though is normal because I restarted and probably won't be a problem again until I try and go on Battlefield (or another intensive game).

Posted Image
Posted Image

My paging files are on, I've chosen to let Windows decide what to do though because I ran into other issues when I did it manually.

#42 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:54

If you received a blue screen error, or stop code, the computer has shut down abruptly to protect itself from data loss. A hardware device, its driver, or related software might have caused this error.

http://msdn.microsof...6(v=vs.85).aspx

#43 ArialBlue

ArialBlue

    var lulz;

  • Joined: 24-June 10
  • Location: Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • OS: Windows Master Race

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:55

In use RAM should be .6 to 1.2 GB on a normal system

Edited by ArialBlue, 06 January 2013 - 20:55.


#44 Tony.

Tony.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 05
  • Location: Liverpool, UK
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:56

Is this a Win 8 only thing? or did you miss out which device to disable it on ?

(Running 7)


I missed the device, it's whatever HDD/SSD the BF3 install is on. :)

#45 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 06 January 2013 - 20:57

In use RAM should be .6 to 1.2 GB on a normal system


That's completely relative to how much stuff he has running in the background.