Jump to content



Photo

OS X Server + Virtual MySQL


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#16 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 09 January 2013 - 19:10

It's not bad for free software. If you're spending somebody else's money or making a respectable living diddling with databases then get Navicat: it's significantly more powerful.


Now I know - there will be responses to this.

Honestly, phpMyAdmin in my opinion is only great IF you need to share access to your database servers. Outside of visual ques I am not really sure what the advantage is of using any GUI applications over command line.

(Other than the nice ability to use ctrl + v / ctrl + p lol)

Anytime I have used something graphically to save time - in the long run - time has been wasted with a poor performing query.


#17 OP Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.5
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 09 January 2013 - 19:32

Erm, what?
phpMyAdmin runs as a web service, if you think businesses or hosting companies will open their mysql database server to remote connections so you can use your program, you are in for a huge surprise.
You might be able to use sequel pro locally on the same PC or network but you will NOT ever see that in the production world because you might as well open your database server to everyone without needing a username or password.


Trust me, I have it all locked out from the outside world. :)


It's not bad for free software. If you're spending somebody else's money or making a respectable living diddling with databases then get Navicat: it's significantly more powerful.


I suppose that would be great software if I wanted to cluster later on? :)

#18 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 10 January 2013 - 05:01

Command line 100% of the time.

#19 OP Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.5
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 10 January 2013 - 06:11

Command line 100% of the time.


When I'm more used to it. I've yet to build my own framework that manages everything for me.

#20 hjf288

hjf288

    Korean Crazy Man!

  • Joined: 19-April 03
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 10 January 2013 - 06:15

http://www.adminer.org/ If you must have a web interface to your MySQL databases...

#21 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 14 January 2013 - 19:45

When I'm more used to it. I've yet to build my own framework that manages everything for me.


Not sure what you mean, you would prefer to use a GUI for the learning phase?

#22 OP Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.5
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 14 January 2013 - 19:57

http://www.adminer.org/ If you must have a web interface to your MySQL databases...


I'm not in favor of web interfaces honestly.

Not sure what you mean, you would prefer to use a GUI for the learning phase?


No, I already know how to handle these types of things, I don't have the database open outside my network, so I prefer to just work with what's on the desktop because it's a lot faster and I use generated passwords.

#23 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 14 January 2013 - 20:02

No, I already know how to handle these types of things, I don't have the database open outside my network, so I prefer to just work with what's on the desktop because it's a lot faster and I use generated passwords.


In this case - I stick with my original answer. Command line is the best solution as it is already built in.

#24 OP Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.5
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 14 January 2013 - 20:09

In this case - I stick with my original answer. Command line is the best solution as it is already built in.


I wouldn't say so for many, many accounts and databases, with everything coming with generated characters. Especially passwords that are 25 characters.

#25 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 14 January 2013 - 20:32

I wouldn't say so for many, many accounts and databases, with everything coming with generated characters. Especially passwords that are 25 characters.


Well, it would be specific to your usage scenario / setup but root just has 1 password and from there can access all others without the requirement of typing in 25 character passwords.

Just want to help.

#26 OP Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.5
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 14 January 2013 - 21:08

Well, it would be specific to your usage scenario / setup but root just has 1 password and from there can access all others without the requirement of typing in 25 character passwords.

Just want to help.


Yea, I got rid of root a long time ago. Haha.