Jump to content



Photo

Using a mac without a mouse

mac mouseless keyboard

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
29 replies to this topic

#1 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 13:25

So I've been trying this for a while and it's actually impossible.
You can't navigate the system preferences at all using just a keyboard so you can't enable mousekeys, and you can't enable mousekeys without using the GUI because apple disabled all the values in 'defaults'....
It actually offends me how apple is getting any marketshare with such a disgusting OS in reguards to such simple accessability features.

Surely I'm just overlooking something here and it's not completely impossible to use a mac without a mouse to enable the mouseless features ?


#2 +OOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOO

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-September 04

Posted 13 January 2013 - 13:44

Disgusting OS? LOL!!! ! !I!H!

haha. Sorry ... what? lol.

Google search you goon ... http://www.macworld....usefreemac.html

#3 The Laughing Man

The Laughing Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-May 03
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan

Posted 13 January 2013 - 13:47

Worst troll ever.

#4 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 13:52

Disgusting OS? LOL!!! ! !I!H!

haha. Sorry ... what? lol.

Google search you goon ... http://www.macworld....usefreemac.html

Google search? LOL!119rjie

haha. Sorry ... what? lol.

Read the ****ing post - you can't use system preferences with a keyboard and you can't enable mouse keys without a mouse

Worst troll ever.

Do you have any input on how to get mouse keys working or do you want to go away ?

#5 tiagosilva29

tiagosilva29

    You might think that, I couldn't possibly comment.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-May 04
  • Phone: I need a new one. Gibe moni plos

Posted 13 January 2013 - 13:53

Apple Menu -> System Preferences -> Universal Access -> Mouse & Trackpad -> Mouse Keys

#6 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 13:54

Apple menu -> System Preferences -> Universal Access -> Mouse & Trackpad -> Mouse Keys

Christ can you NOT READ?
YOU CANNOT USE SYSTEM PREFERENCES WITHOUT A MOUSE

#7 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 13 January 2013 - 13:55

WTF? It's a mouse-based interface. Using Windows without a mouse is hell. Also, touchpad!

#8 tiagosilva29

tiagosilva29

    You might think that, I couldn't possibly comment.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-May 04
  • Phone: I need a new one. Gibe moni plos

Posted 13 January 2013 - 13:56

YOU CANNOT USE SYSTEM PREFERENCES WITHOUT A MOUSE

Control (+fn if on a laptop?) + F2 to Apple Menu, scroll with keys/tab, select with spacebar. I'm not even an Apple user.

#9 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:00

WTF? It's a mouse-based interface. Using Windows without a mouse is hell. Also, touchpad!

No it isn't, I can enable mouse keys in windows in 20 seconds using a keyboard.

Control (fn if on a laptop?) + F2 to Apple Menu, scroll with keys/tab, select with spacebar.

I'm not even an Apple user.

Yeah I've done that, using tab you cannot switch to various options in system preferences such as the mouse keys checkbox, that's why I made this thread and clearly included that information in the original post.

#10 tiagosilva29

tiagosilva29

    You might think that, I couldn't possibly comment.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-May 04
  • Phone: I need a new one. Gibe moni plos

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:04

Yeah I've done that, using tab you cannot switch to various options in system preferences such as the mouse keys checkbox, that's why I made this thread and clearly included that information in the original post.

Control + F7 on the tabs.

Apparently you can also activate Mouse Keys using a shortcut which is by pressing Option/Alt (depending on your system version) five times in a row.

#11 WelshBluebird

WelshBluebird

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-August 05
  • Location: Rhondda, South Wales

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:05

Who the hell uses a desktop OS without some kind of mouse / trackpad / touchscreen??

#12 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:07

Control + F7 on the tabs.

Apparently you can also activate Mouse Keys using a shortcut which is by pressing Option/Alt (depending on your system version) five times in a row.

GENIUS! Got it working.

#13 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:08

No it isn't, I can enable mouse keys in windows in 20 seconds using a keyboard.

All well and good, but it's not "prescribed" use, moreover it's horrendous. OSX is designed to be used with a pointing device, simple as that. Because you want to do otherwise doesn't make it a horrendous OS.

#14 tiagosilva29

tiagosilva29

    You might think that, I couldn't possibly comment.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-May 04
  • Phone: I need a new one. Gibe moni plos

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:08

Who the hell uses a desktop OS without some kind of mouse / trackpad / touchscreen??

Well... me. But I'm using Fedora.

#15 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:11

Who the hell uses a desktop OS without some kind of mouse / trackpad / touchscreen??

You never seen the 'mac osx server' items for sale in the app store since mac got rid of the xserve or is this some poor kind of trolling?

All well and good, but it's not "prescribed" use, moreover it's horrendous. OSX is designed to be used with a pointing device, simple as that. Because you want to do otherwise doesn't make it a horrendous OS.

How is it not a prescribed use? If it wasn't prescribed it wouldn't be in the OS at all. What if your point device breaks and you've got something important to do for your job and you can't? You'd get fired, is my guess.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!