Jump to content



Photo

Office 2010 SP2 Invites Sent


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 MtnDewCodeRedFreak

MtnDewCodeRedFreak

    Since May 2001

  • 1,967 posts
  • Joined: 04-August 03
  • Location: In a place where Code Red flows ...
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:31

Hey y'all:

I found this from winbeta.org ...

http://www.winbeta.o...-service-pack-2

If any one of the newsposters want to post this in Front Page News. by all means go right ahead.

:)


#2 Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • 2,774 posts
  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:38

haven't received an invite yet... getting a little worried that I won't, either. Hope I do, but if I don't, there's not much I can do about it but wait. :/

#3 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • 12,803 posts
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 17 January 2013 - 06:12

wtf? what's the point of SP2 when they're discontinuing SPs for Win7 and releasing Office 2013, like, now?

#4 Mr Nom Nom's

Mr Nom Nom's

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,615 posts
  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • OS: OS X 10.10.1
  • Phone: iPhone 6 128GB

Posted 17 January 2013 - 09:18

I hope it fixes up some drawing bugs when running Office 2010 on Windows 8 - check out the 'file' menu and the weird square around it in the background.

#5 RandyC

RandyC

    Neowinian

  • 209 posts
  • Joined: 24-September 03
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 17 January 2013 - 14:56

I hope it fixes up some drawing bugs when running Office 2010 on Windows 8 - check out the 'file' menu and the weird square around it in the background.


Are you running the x64 or x86 version of Office 2010? I experience the same problem but only with x64 Office on Win8.

#6 DrakeN2k

DrakeN2k

    Neowinian

  • 1,138 posts
  • Joined: 04-December 10

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:05

I dont see it on 32 bit office on Win8

#7 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • 7,559 posts
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:05

wtf? what's the point of SP2 when they're discontinuing SPs for Win7 and releasing Office 2013, like, now?


Maybe to fix bugs for customers that have the 2010 version of office. Think about businesses that have 10's of thousands of computers... who's going to pay to upgrade to Office 2013 in this economy? Are you going to front the bill for them in licensing and deployment/training costs?

#8 tomcoleman

tomcoleman

    Neowinian

  • 319 posts
  • Joined: 09-August 04

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:08

is there a list of fixes?

#9 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:35

I already posted this a while ago
http://www.neowin.ne...-2010-sp2-beta/


No list of fixes that I could see, just info saying there were updates reserved for SP2 that were not in SP1

#10 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • 12,803 posts
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 17 January 2013 - 20:58

Maybe to fix bugs for customers that have the 2010 version of office. Think about businesses that have 10's of thousands of computers... who's going to pay to upgrade to Office 2013 in this economy? Are you going to front the bill for them in licensing and deployment/training costs?


what kind of multiple tens of thousands of computers company would not have a continuing licence already?

#11 1941

1941

    Banned

  • 18,175 posts
  • Joined: 17-July 06

Posted 17 January 2013 - 21:16

I will wait for ther final, I don't like messing with Pre Release Sp's

#12 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • 16,227 posts
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.10.14203.306

Posted 17 January 2013 - 21:20

Maybe to fix bugs for customers that have the 2010 version of office. Think about businesses that have 10's of thousands of computers... who's going to pay to upgrade to Office 2013 in this economy? Are you going to front the bill for them in licensing and deployment/training costs?


we will not be upgrading to 2013 however, if we wanted to it would not cost us a penny as we lisence X amount of computers and can put whatever version of office/windows on it we like. we pay every june. whatever is on the network at that time is what we pay for.

#13 Mr Nom Nom's

Mr Nom Nom's

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,615 posts
  • Joined: 08-January 11
  • OS: OS X 10.10.1
  • Phone: iPhone 6 128GB

Posted 18 January 2013 - 14:58

Maybe to fix bugs for customers that have the 2010 version of office. Think about businesses that have 10's of thousands of computers... who's going to pay to upgrade to Office 2013 in this economy? Are you going to front the bill for them in licensing and deployment/training costs?


There is also the fact that service packs are more than just patch roll ups because they also include patches that are unreleased to the public and only available to customers on contract.

Are you running the x64 or x86 version of Office 2010? I experience the same problem but only with x64 Office on Win8.


Office 2010 x64 on Windows 8 Pro x64. It isn't a major thing but it would be nice to see it fixed :D