Jump to content



Photo

Durango (next Xbox) specs leak


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:03

As we promised during the weekend in the next weeks we will unveil Durango and Orbis. All the technical info you want to know about the next generation machines from Sony and Microsoft.

The first one is Durango. In this article we present the system overview with the general components and some technical details about them.

How are durango components connected?

Here you can see the Durango system block diagram:

Durango Arquitecture



Let’s check what’s inside the box:

CPU:

- x64 Architecture

- 8 CPU cores running at 1.6 gigahertz (GHz)

- each CPU thread has its own 32 KB L1 instruction cache and 32 KB L1 data cache

- each module of four CPU cores has a 2 MB L2 cache resulting in a total of 4 MB of L2 cache

- each core has one fully independent hardware thread with no shared execution resources

- each hardware thread can issue two instructions per clock

GPU:

- custom D3D11.1 class 800-MHz graphics processor

- 12 shader cores providing a total of 768 threads

- each thread can perform one scalar multiplication and addition operation (MADD) per clock cycle

- at peak performance, the GPU can effectively issue 1.2 trillion floating-point operations per second

High-fidelity Natural User Interface (NUI) sensor is always present

Storage and Memory:

- 8 gigabyte (GB) of RAM DDR3 (68 GB/s)

- 32 MB of fast embedded SRAM (ESRAM) (102 GB/s)

- from the GPU’s perspective the bandwidths of system memory and ESRAM are parallel providing combined peak bandwidth of 170 GB/sec.

- Hard drive is always present

- 50 GB 6x Blu-ray Disc drive

Networking:

- Gigabit Ethernet

- Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi Direct

Hardware Accelerators:

- Move engines

- Image, video, and audio codecs

- Kinect multichannel echo cancellation (MEC) hardware




- Cryptography engines for encryption and decryption, and hashing


Posted Image

Source: http://www.vgleaks.c...rango-unveiled/

Next gen will be awesome. Only other thing I can comment on was how daft the arguments on here got over Blu Ray, pretty obvious MS would go with it.


#2 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:13

HDMI in?

#3 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:17

HDMI in?


Might be for Kinect 2.0?

#4 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:18

Ooh Wifi Direct, I wonder why they specifically call it out? If they go x64, they also risk rampant hacking that plagued the first Xbox. :/ I guess subsidy will be lower and price higher at launch?

HDMI in?

TV box function?

#5 Arkanius

Arkanius

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-March 05

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:09

HDMI in is seriously ticking my fancy
I wish it had a low powered mode for TV box function though

#6 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:17

Only other thing I can comment on was how daft the arguments on here got over Blu Ray, pretty obvious MS would go with it.

(Y)

#7 LUTZIFER

LUTZIFER

    Resident Evil

  • Joined: 09-January 02
  • Location: Vancouver Island, BC CANADA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:18

Sweet... me like. Can't wait.

#8 +CrossCheck

CrossCheck

    i am a retarded disfigured clown

  • Joined: 26-October 08
  • Location: Clearfield, Utah

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:18

Might be for Kinect 2.0?

i wouldn't be suprised if they figured out how to embed kinect into the console itself

#9 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:21

Might be for Kinect 2.0?

Kinect doesn't use HDMI (doesn't make sense) and Kinect IN is shown right next to it.

#10 S.MULLA

S.MULLA

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-February 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:24

what no HD-DVD!! only j/k :p

Microsoft going to announce June 13th @ E3! so long to wait!!

#11 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:27

i wouldn't be suprised if they figured out how to embed kinect into the console itself


Having Kinect built into the console itself would be a ****ing nightmare for lots of people.

There is a "Kinect In" on the diagram though, so not to worry :)

#12 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:37

HDMI IN is probably going to be for a Google TV affair, you plug your Cable/Terrestrial box into the Durango then the Durango into the TV and have its OS as an overlay to supplement the TV input. Microsoft are aiming this console to be the media hub for your home.

Disappointed with the specs, I thought this generation was going to be very close, Microsoft is skimping on the GPU, 12CU compared to 18CU of Orbis.

#13 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:46

HDMI in is seriously ticking my fancy
I wish it had a low powered mode for TV box function though


It might, there is no reason it can't underclock itself when not playing a game. The cpu and gpu both could do it.

#14 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:51

It might, there is no reason it can't underclock itself when not playing a game. The cpu and gpu both could do it.

Not sure if AMD support it but 2 cores will be reserved for "always on" OS, they could disable 6 cores for "TV Mode".

#15 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 21 January 2013 - 17:29

Having Kinect built into the console itself would be a ****ing nightmare for lots of people.

There is a "Kinect In" on the diagram though, so not to worry :)


Yeah building in Kinect would not work. I overlooked the Kinect in part thinking it would be for Kinect 1. It will be for the new Kinect though, my bad, HDMI in is probably for cable/digital TV stuff.