Jump to content



Photo

Durango (next Xbox) specs leak


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#16 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 21 January 2013 - 18:05

Having Kinect built into the console itself would be a ****ing nightmare for lots of people.

There is a "Kinect In" on the diagram though, so not to worry :)

They can always "split" Kinect into two, sensors outside + separate and processing inside? 3GB memory for OS sounds like a lot for a console OS too.


#17 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 21 January 2013 - 19:11

"leaked" :shifty:

#18 compl3x

compl3x

    Space coyote

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 22 January 2013 - 03:49

Only other thing I can comment on was how daft the arguments on here got over Blu Ray, pretty obvious MS would go with it.


Yep. We can go and poke fun at people here

#19 cryptonym

cryptonym

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-February 13

Posted 18 February 2013 - 06:41

Is there anyone else who thinks "Durango" is a terrible name for Xbox?:p

#20 compl3x

compl3x

    Space coyote

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 18 February 2013 - 07:49

Is there anyone else who thinks "Durango" is a terrible name for Xbox? :p


It's just a codename, like Orbis is for the next Playstation :)

#21 MLIFE

MLIFE

    Rock on!

  • Joined: 19-May 05
  • Location: Sydney

Posted 03 March 2013 - 03:49

Sounds great. Can't wait for Orbis/Durango to be released so I can pick one of the two. Luvely!

#22 rfirth

rfirth

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-September 09
  • Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 620

Posted 03 March 2013 - 04:14

3GB memory for OS sounds like a lot for a console OS too.


A console OS? I bet it runs Windows 8, minus the desktop... pretty much what Windows RT would be if there was a metro version of Office at launch. Actually, there is no reason why you shouldn't be able to plug in a keyboard and mouse and use it as a full PC. And apps for Xbox would be those WinRT Blue apps that are designed to be Windows 8, RT, WP8.5, and Xbox compatible, or of course designed for just one of those platforms (in this case Xbox), but using WinRT and sold in the Xbox Store.

#23 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 03 March 2013 - 06:49

Not sure if AMD support it but 2 cores will be reserved for "always on" OS, they could disable 6 cores for "TV Mode".

I believe the processors have an ARM chip on die taking care of that bit. I could be wrong.