Jump to content



Photo

Ubuntu 12.04 Unity 2D Stuck Issue


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#16 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:43

In the screenshot I provided, and is still showing the same thing now, AMD drivers are still installed...

Attached Images

  • Screenshot from 2013-01-23 02:26:00.png



#17 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:55

Based on that screenshot, you don't have the proprietary Radeon HD graphics drivers installed, only the open-source one. That's exactly what you want. However, if you're still stuck in Unity 2D, that's obviously not your problem. If you post your /var/log/Xorg.0.log I might be able to help you more, otherwise I don't have enough information to help you troubleshoot your problem.

#18 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:07

That makes no sense.

Before the problem, 13.1 was installed and working. Plus the fact that the AMD Control Centre is still there.

Anyways, I have attached the log file.

Attached Files



#19 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:59

Your Xorg log highlighted something odd: although APT indicates that the proprietary AMD graphics driver is not installed, it is in use on your system. Did you install the driver directly from the binary blob on AMD's website at any point?

Also, fglrx is falling back to 2D acceleration only. That's why you can't load anything but Unity 2D and GNOME Fallback. The relevant lines from your log are the following:

[    47.871] (II) Loading extension DRI2
[    47.871] (==) Matched fglrx as autoconfigured driver 0

[    47.871] (II) LoadModule: "fglrx"
[    47.871] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.so
[    47.885] (II) Module fglrx: vendor="FireGL - AMD Technologies Inc."
[    47.885]     compiled for 1.4.99.906, module version = 9.1.11
[    47.885]     Module class: X.Org Video Driver

[    47.903] (**) fglrx(0): NoAccel = NO
[    47.903] (**) fglrx(0): AMD 2D Acceleration Architecture enabled
[    47.903] (--) fglrx(0): Chipset: "ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series " (Chipset = 0x6899)

For manual removal of fglrx, try the following:

sudo rm -rf /usr/src/fglrx*
sudo rm -rf /usr/src/modules/fglrx


#20 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 January 2013 - 04:04

Once I do those commands, then what? I installed it from there website, the .run file you download, thats how I installed them.

I'm sorry, still quite new to linux and all that. I don't want to be stuck outside Ubuntu again lol

#21 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 25 January 2013 - 04:21

After you get the driver uninstalled, you need to reboot.

Also, as a rule of thumb, NEVER install software outside of the repository! There are exceptions to this rule, of course, but you should have a very good reason for installing something directly. If you need newer versions of software or something that is not in the repository, use an Ubuntu PPA with the package. If there is none available, try to at least find a deb of the software. Ignoring the repository negates one of the biggest advantages of using Ubuntu.

#22 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 January 2013 - 04:26

Wouldn't removing the fglrx mean I have no video drivers and then be stuck in console mode?

Do I not need to do that, then re-install something.

#23 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 25 January 2013 - 17:09

You won't be stuck in console mode because there is still a graphics driver, just not the proprietary driver. fglrx is the name of the proprietary graphics driver. radeon is the name of the open-source graphics driver. The proprietary driver is a module produced by AMD while the open-source driver is built into the Linux kernel. The only way you could break the open-source driver and force X to revert to the basic vesa driver would be if you removed all the radeon driver support packages. (Namely, libdrm-radeon1 radeontool xserver-xorg-video-radeon libgl1-mesa-dri libgl1-mesa-glx) According to the Aptitude output you posted already, you have not done that, and I did not instruct you to do that before or since. So, your display should still come up.

#24 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 January 2013 - 18:34

Alright, so I did those commands and rebooted, still stuck in 2D.

So I guess I am out of luck. My system just does not want to work.

Is the AMD control centre still suppose to be there? Also, when I click on it (admin) asks for password, I enter it and then nothing happens, doesn't open.

**

Let me ask you this, if I wipe the system again, and do a fresh install. If I leave the open-source drivers as they are, you don't think this will happen again, you think it is caused by the AMD drivers?

#25 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 25 January 2013 - 18:59

Ubuntu doesn't load the open-source drivers, Radeon, by default. You NEED to install them manually.

#26 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 January 2013 - 19:00

Ubuntu doesn't load the open-source drivers, Radeon, by default. You NEED to install them manually.


Wait, what is installed then when you first get into Ubuntu?

#27 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 25 January 2013 - 19:07

Like Orange said, it uses a default driver. Similar to what Windows uses before you install the drivers for your GPU.

#28 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 January 2013 - 19:08

Interesting, I thought the default driver was the open-source driver.

#29 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 25 January 2013 - 19:10

The open-source driver is a driver you get from the repositories, not that is installed in Ubuntu ootb.

#30 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 January 2013 - 19:15

Well alright.

So what about my problem, all the steps I just followed has solved nothing?

Am I once again out of luck and must re-install? If I were to do that, how do I install the open-source drivers with all things needed?

I don't really want to do that again, quite annoying.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!