Jump to content



Photo

Nintendo 64 on LCD


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 03 February 2013 - 00:17

Google isn't being much help at all with this one. I'm finding threads on forums that are full of users saying it's the cables, get an old TV etc.

I have a N64, and I want it to work on my LCD HDTV. If I have to buy something to convert the signal, I really don't care.

I know this console works, I know the cables are fine, I know the games are fine. This is a signal issue with the TV.

Can canyone tell me what I should go and buy to get this to work.

I have AV cables (red, white, yellow). I've tried them in the AV ports, and in Composite ports (plugged in correctly).

Any help would be appreciated.


#2 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 03 February 2013 - 00:23

your LCD TV should have RCA hookups, Red/White/Yellow and it should show on that input... What TV do you have, make/model?

#3 @Leo

@Leo

    Under Derp Patrol

  • Joined: 06-June 10
  • Location: /dev/null
  • OS: OS X 10.8.2; Windows 8 Enterprise
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 03 February 2013 - 00:25

If your TV lacks RCA input, you can find an RCA to HDMI converter on Ebay.

#4 The Teej

The Teej

    Also known as The Tjalian

  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 03 February 2013 - 00:28

You will probably need a down converter, if they exist. Don't forget, the large majority of games run at 320x240 which a lot of newer TVs don't support for some reason. Do you have an expansion pak and a game which supports 640x480, such as Perfect Dark or Star Wars Episode 1 Racer? This might be a good way to try it out.

Either way.... have fun with your N64... I tried mine on my 42" HDTV for the first time a few weeks ago and I almost cried at how bad it looked. I had all upscaling features turned on on my TV and it just didn't work one bit - it was horrendous to look at. I hate to say it, but you're better off getting a cheap tablet of some kind which runs N64 emulators well and connecting that by HDMI... :(

#5 OP Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 03 February 2013 - 02:53

Got a new cable and it's working. But it's on and off, really annoying.

#6 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 03 February 2013 - 03:08

You will probably need a down converter, if they exist. Don't forget, the large majority of games run at 320x240 which a lot of newer TVs don't support for some reason. Do you have an expansion pak and a game which supports 640x480, such as Perfect Dark or Star Wars Episode 1 Racer? This might be a good way to try it out.

Either way.... have fun with your N64... I tried mine on my 42" HDTV for the first time a few weeks ago and I almost cried at how bad it looked. I had all upscaling features turned on on my TV and it just didn't work one bit - it was horrendous to look at. I hate to say it, but you're better off getting a cheap tablet of some kind which runs N64 emulators well and connecting that by HDMI... :(


the games resolution was 320x240, but the output resolution was standard NTSC or PAL resolution when it went out via Composite video

#7 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 03 February 2013 - 03:10

Do you have them plugged into the composite or component? One is white/red/yellow, one is red/green/blue (plus white/red for audio).

#8 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 03 February 2013 - 04:35

S-video???

http://www.walmart.c...wl5=pla&veh=sem


or this universal??

http://www.walmart.c...indingMethod=rr

#9 The Teej

The Teej

    Also known as The Tjalian

  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 04 February 2013 - 05:31

Got a new cable and it's working. But it's on and off, really annoying.


Welcome to old N64s. i strongly recommend not blowing into the cartridges or the cartridge slot as we used to do as kids - as it turns out, all it does is just leave tiny bits of spit on the connectors and ends up rusting them :p

#10 karl_87

karl_87

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-August 04
  • Location: Lincoln, UK

Posted 04 February 2013 - 12:55

Do you have a PAL N64? I live in the UK and have a PAL N64, and bought a cheap AV (Red/White/Yellow) cable from ebay, and the colours were all messed up and had a massive white glare problem, turns out the PAL N64 is slightly different and these generic cables dont work well. You need one thats been especially made or altered for PAL. Not sure if this is your problem but definitly worth considering.

#11 guitmz

guitmz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-June 11
  • Location: Brazil
  • OS: Windows 8, Arch Linux, OSX 10.9
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 February 2013 - 12:57

well... i have a 47" LED tv and the N64 simple sucks at it... the image is so streched that the fonts are barely readable... the best result I find (w/o conversos, just the colored cables) was to plug it into a 32" tv.. the image is still bad, but is a LOT better and at least readable.. i also own a 29" CRT tv which i use with the N64, but please let me know if you get some better results!

#12 guitmz

guitmz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-June 11
  • Location: Brazil
  • OS: Windows 8, Arch Linux, OSX 10.9
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 February 2013 - 13:05

also, just to report.. my tv does not have s-video, so i didnt tested it... but doesnt seem to solve the issue afaik

#13 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 04 February 2013 - 13:10

NTSC/PAL?

#14 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 04 February 2013 - 13:14

well... i have a 47" LED tv and the N64 simple sucks at it... the image is so streched that the fonts are barely readable... the best result I find (w/o conversos, just the colored cables) was to plug it into a 32" tv.. the image is still bad, but is a LOT better and at least readable.. i also own a 29" CRT tv which i use with the N64, but please let me know if you get some better results!


Can't you set your TV Input for that to be 4:3?

I'm running my SNES on a 59" Samsung Plasma, and it looks great with he standard RCA cables.

#15 guitmz

guitmz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-June 11
  • Location: Brazil
  • OS: Windows 8, Arch Linux, OSX 10.9
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 February 2013 - 13:17

i'll try that and let you know.. but as far as i know, the black borders is what 4:3 does, right? so it seems a "smaller" screen inside the big screen... i need to try that! hope it works!

im on NTSC