Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Latest/Greatest way to ecrypt with PHP

11 posts in this topic

Posted

Hey all,

What's the best/safest way right now to encrypt a password to store into a MySQL database?

Posted

bcrypt

2 people like this

Posted

Why are you encrypting passwords? Does it need to be reversible?

If you are storing the users login details try salting and hashing your passwords instead - SHA1

1 person likes this

Posted

More details would help I guess haha. It is an Admin username and password stored in a database. The admin has to enter the username and password when logging into the control panel. I want to save that password as securely as possible. I'm completely new to this and there are many options online, and I need some guidance.

Why are you encrypting passwords? Does it need to be reversible?

If you are storing the users login details try salting and hashing your passwords instead - SHA1

i will look into this! Thank you!

Posted

SHA1 is "weaker" than newer hash methods, and it's even better to use something like HMAC-SHA256 or bcrypt (as mentioned before)

Posted

Could someone post a good tutorial? It's confusing trying to pin down the information that i need. There are seriously so many options, and old posts. Im really don't know what is the newest and safest thing to use!

Posted

I see BLOWFISH and SHA512 listed. Some searches are saying that both a good. Should I use BLOWFISH?

Posted

I'd use a pre-built solution that's been tested, the good ones will use something secure (HMAC-SHA256, bcrypt, etc.) and you won't have to worry about doing something wrong and accidentally opening a flaw into your system.

Posted

Use crypt().

if (CRYPT_BLOWFISH == 1) {

crypt($password, $salt);

}