Welcome Guest! To access all forums & features, please register an account or sign-in. → Why register?



Chrome detecting malware


12 replies to this topic - - - - -

#1 Draconian Guppy

    Neowinian DOMINATING

  • 8,770 posts
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 04 February 2013 - 13:22

Browsing neowin at work, this popped up!

Attached Images

  • Attached Image: jpg.JPG



#2 OP Draconian Guppy

    Neowinian DOMINATING

  • 8,770 posts
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 04 February 2013 - 13:56

happened again with front page, same "cmi.netsteer.com"

#3 +littleneutrino

    I am the Little Neutrino

  • 13,222 posts
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Newark, Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: GS3 CM10.1

Posted 04 February 2013 - 13:58

this has been happening for a few weeks no, i have always chocked it up to either an ad, or someones signature.

#4 OP Draconian Guppy

    Neowinian DOMINATING

  • 8,770 posts
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 04 February 2013 - 14:19

View Postlittleneutrino, on 04 February 2013 - 13:58, said:

this has been happening for a few weeks no, i have always chocked it up to either an ad, or someones signature.

Well I wasn't logged in when that happened, so it must be some add.

I couldn't even log in because chrome wouldn't let me through!

#5 Guth

    Alba Gu BrĂ¡th

  • 788 posts
  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 04 February 2013 - 14:23

chrome will let you through if you press advanced and something like "proceed anyway"

Ths was posted already and I tracked it down to a users signature that time. This must be different though as the last one was sorted.. http://www.neowin.ne...-malware-alert/

#6 OP Draconian Guppy

    Neowinian DOMINATING

  • 8,770 posts
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 04 February 2013 - 14:48

View PostGuth, on 04 February 2013 - 14:23, said:

chrome will let you through if you press advanced and something like "proceed anyway"

Ths was posted already and I tracked it down to a users signature that time. This must be different though as the last one was sorted.. http://www.neowin.ne...-malware-alert/

Yeah that's how I eventually got through.

It's a different one as I wasn't logged in at the time and it ocurred in the forums and front page as well.

#7 +Brando212

    Causer of disasters

  • 5,457 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: right behind you
  • OS: OSX ML, Windows 7/8 Pro

Posted 04 February 2013 - 16:30

well if it's happening on the front page then it can't be someones signature it's gotta be an ad

#8 Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,164 posts
  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 04 February 2013 - 16:35

It's has to be an ad.

#9 Haggis

    Resident Elite

  • 1,338 posts
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 04 February 2013 - 16:36

just got one a min ago when clicking on a thread into the forums

it was going onto THE BIG WRESTLING THREAD

Attached Images

  • Attached Image: mal.JPG


#10 +Brando212

    Causer of disasters

  • 5,457 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: right behind you
  • OS: OSX ML, Windows 7/8 Pro

Posted 04 February 2013 - 16:57

View PostHaggis, on 04 February 2013 - 16:36, said:

just got one a min ago when clicking on a thread into the forums

it was going onto THE BIG WRESTLING THREAD
that one's probably a sig

#11 Neobond

    Steven Parker

  • 26,176 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro

Posted 04 February 2013 - 19:35

It's probably someones avatar, since they are present in comments.

Edit: This has been resolved, I checked my email and had this from our publisher:

Quote

This morning several publishers reported receiving Malware alerts from Chrome users from ads coming from NetSeer. We've confirmed that NetSeer has been blocked from all of our demand sources and if you haven't already we suggest that you also block NetSeer from all your remnant providers including AdSense.


#12 vetGrowled

    Resident Rockstar

  • 35,979 posts
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 05 February 2013 - 01:02

Ah, glad this is solved.

#13 Haggis

    Resident Elite

  • 1,338 posts
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 05 February 2013 - 09:42

Glad its all sorted :)