Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,414 posts
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 06 February 2013 - 08:42

BSkyB will switch its broadband service to network-level filtering later this year in a clear move away from allowing subscribers to control what content they want their families to access online in their own homes.

The telco said that computer-based parental controls were not enough to protect kids who use web-based services on a variety of devices. So network-level filtering - possibly using Deep Packet Inspection (DPI) probes - will be applied to the service at some point in 2013.

Source: http://www.theregist...evel_filtering/


#2 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • 11,528 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 06 February 2013 - 08:47

statement withdrawn

#3 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • 6,019 posts
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 06 February 2013 - 08:53

Time for people to pack their bags and head to a different ISP then :)

#4 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,364 posts
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 06 February 2013 - 09:25

Ah great, this I presume is the beginning of priority traffic too, set this up and blame it on 'child protection' and you've got a network that can slow down all connections except to those companies that pay you more.
Do the UK/world/net neutrality/yourselves a favour, GTFO sky broadband and go with absolutely any other provider.

#5 KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian

  • 1,471 posts
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:04

You shout that Sky are doing this, but it won't be long before they are all doing this. It's a horrible circle, you move to one provider and they do something you don't like..... so you move again, then that new company does something else.

Plus.... if you're that bothered, call them up and ask them to take it off :/

I'm with Sky at the moment and I am not going anywhere.

#6 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,414 posts
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:05

Yeah i will stay with sky as long as they have the option not to be included in the filter

#7 watkinsx2

watkinsx2

    Neowinian

  • 294 posts
  • Joined: 11-December 01
  • Location: Hertfordshire
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC One/Lumia 920

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:08

Im pretty sure talktalk do this already but you can turn it off.

#8 KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian

  • 1,471 posts
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:10

Im pretty sure talktalk do this already but you can turn it off.


They do, it doesn't work very well though :p

#9 watkinsx2

watkinsx2

    Neowinian

  • 294 posts
  • Joined: 11-December 01
  • Location: Hertfordshire
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC One/Lumia 920

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:17

Pulled from my TalkTalk online account:

Attached Images

  • talktalk.png


#10 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • 803 posts
  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:21

im with sky :(
Will be changing to BT soon anyway as they are the only IPS with hardware in our exchange.

#11 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,414 posts
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 06 February 2013 - 11:26

Pulled from my TalkTalk online account:


whats in the Edit Settings under kid safe?

#12 watkinsx2

watkinsx2

    Neowinian

  • 294 posts
  • Joined: 11-December 01
  • Location: Hertfordshire
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC One/Lumia 920

Posted 06 February 2013 - 11:30

whats in the Edit Settings under kid safe?

Attached Images

  • talktalk2.png