Jump to content



Photo

Opera Switches to Webkit

opera webkit chromium

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 13 February 2013 - 13:56

Opera is switching to the WebKit engine as well as Chromium for its upcoming version of browsers for smartphones and computers. The company is making this switch to provide a better browsing experience on Android and iOS.

Unfortunatly, Opera has no plans to go open source, and is is still a proprietary (non-free) browser.


Click here for more!


#2 spacer

spacer

    I'm awesome

  • Joined: 09-November 06
  • Location: Connecticut, USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 13 February 2013 - 13:58

Since when is Opera "non-free"? It looks pretty free to me for my desktop and my Android phone.

#3 OP f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 13 February 2013 - 13:59

Since when is Opera "non-free"? It looks pretty free to me for my desktop and my Android phone.


It's free, but not open source.

#4 OP f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 13 February 2013 - 14:03

Posted
http://www.neowin.ne...obile-browsers/
:shifty:


Ugh...I searched "Opera Webkit" for it before I posted, but that thread didn't come up. :pinch:

Thanks Blank! :)

#5 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 14 February 2013 - 02:19

Posted
http://www.neowin.ne...obile-browsers/
:shifty:


Thread Closed



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!