Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Meteorite impact in Urals

79 posts in this topic

Posted

Not so sure about the Russian missiles shooting it down, but....

http://rt.com/news/meteorite-crash-urals-chelyabinsk-283/

A series of explosions in the skies of Russia
1 person likes this

Posted

Wow. It was much brighter than I expected. I think I would have freaked out if it blew out my windows and made my cell phone stop working.

Posted

There are some videos out there of the shockwave. That thing would have been terrifying

Posted

Here's another one (boom @ 12 seconds):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GRqK3OWLqs

Posted

I'm not an expert but i think there was no chance to use missles - impact was too unpredictable and sudden. Anyway, it must be connected to 2012 DA14 asteroid - this meteorite was probably some debris of asteroid.

Posted

Latest report: 500 dead.

Posted

Latest report: 500 dead.

Injured, not dead.

Posted

Injured, not dead.

Media here says 400+ injured mainly by flying glass. RT says 500. Either way this is a major incident as injuries of any kind from meteorites are exceedingly rare, but when they do happen big ones cause bunches.

Whatever, something a bit larger than this hitting a densly populated area could cause much more than glass cuts. Maybe this will get interest restarted in an international space-watch / meteor interception system.

Posted

There is a near miss due in about 9 hours, this could have been some debris from that

Posted

Either way this is a major incident as injuries of any kind from meteorites are exceedingly rare, but when they do happen big ones cause bunches.

No doubt. Hundreds and maybe even thousands of households have had their windows blown at their homes, in winter. That's a major inconvenience, to say the least, and a risk of overexposure to cold.

Some people are also in critical conditions.

Maybe this will get interest restarted in an international space-watch / meteor mitigation system.