Jump to content



Photo
tomb raider pc crystal dynamics

  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#1 compl3x

compl3x

    Space coyote

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 22 February 2013 - 22:39

Posted Image

Rejoice, computer gaming Tomb Raider fans — when Lara returns to her home turf this May she’ll be bringing along a treasure trove of PC-centric bells and whistles that’ll make the console versions look downright sad in comparison. Let’s see if your system has the juice to run them.

Tomb Raider started on the PC and Crystal Dynamics and Nixxes have every intention of giving the loyal keyboard-and-mouse set their just rewards this autumn. PC gamers with the right specs will enjoy high resolution textures with up to 16 times the data of the console versions, detail tessellation to make surfaces pretty, higher quality shadows, some sexy HQ bokeh depth of field effects and improved cloth, SSAO, wetness and post-filter effects.

In short, it’s going to be gorgeous, as long as your system falls within the recommended spec range.

Recommended system requirements for PC
• Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Windows 8
• DirectX 11 graphics card with 1GB Video RAM: AMD Radeon HD 4870, NVIDIA GTX 480
• Quad core CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 565, Intel Core i5-750
• 4GB RAM



You good? If not you’ve still got plenty of wiggle room between those lofty goals and the minimum requirements. Crystal Dynamics promises plenty of scalability options for folks with older machines. They even support Windows XP. Talk about raiding a tomb.

Minimum system requirements for PC
• Windows XP Service Pack 3, Windows Vista, 7, 8 (32-bit/64-bit)
• DirectX 9 graphics card with 512Mb Video RAM: AMD Radeon HD 2600 XT, NVIDIA 8600
• Dual core CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.1 GHz (4050+), Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86GHz (E6300)
• 1GB RAM (2GB on Vista)



Where do you fall in the system spectrum?

----------


http://www.kotaku.co...ig-is-up-to-it/


#2 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 22 February 2013 - 23:06

ugh, nothing as annoying as unecessary and stupid bokeh in games, doesn't belong there and is only added for flashy effects, rest seems good though.

I wish they would focus more on soft body dynamics/intereaction than cloth sim though, cloth is already good enough, what ruins games is that lack of "contact feel between soft bodies like hands or skin on items and structures.

#3 Blackhearted

Blackhearted

    .....

  • Joined: 26-February 04
  • Location: Ohio
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 (VM)

Posted 22 February 2013 - 23:15

Always nice to see a PC version that should bring many improvements over its console counterpart.

Also, it's kinda odd how they recommend a dx11 part and name an HD 4870, then they also specify a quad core and list a dual core amd part.

#4 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 10 Preview
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 22 February 2013 - 23:16

Already preordered. Looking forward to it.

#5 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 23 February 2013 - 04:12

Recommended: Intel Core i5 750, AMD Radeon HD 4870
What I have: Intel Core i5 750, AMD Radeon HD 7870 "Tahiti LE"

:D

Also, I get this game (and BioShock Infinite) free when I bought the above mentioned

#6 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 23 February 2013 - 04:20

Recommended system requirements for PC
• Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Windows 8
• DirectX 11 graphics card with 1GB Video RAM: AMD Radeon HD 4870, NVIDIA GTX 480
• Quad core CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 565, Intel Core i5-750
• 4GB RAM


Minimum system requirements for PC
• Windows XP Service Pack 3, Windows Vista, 7, 8 (32-bit/64-bit)
• DirectX 9 graphics card with 512Mb Video RAM: AMD Radeon HD 2600 XT, NVIDIA 8600
• Dual core CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.1 GHz (4050+), Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86GHz (E6300)
• 1GB RAM (2GB on Vista)

why no touchscreen mentioned? jk

has there any video showing how people playing this kind of game using keyboard & touchscreen on 30" monitor ?

#7 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 23 February 2013 - 04:29

I don't get what they are thinking when they come up with some of these recommended specs:

HD 4870, NVIDIA GTX 480

a GTX 480 is waaayyyy higher end than a 4870 lol. GTX 260 is closer to a 4870.

#8 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 23 February 2013 - 06:50

I don't get what they are thinking when they come up with some of these recommended specs:

HD 4870, NVIDIA GTX 480

a GTX 480 is waaayyyy higher end than a 4870 lol. GTX 260 is closer to a 4870.

Minimum specs tend to be misleading too. Whoever makes them up thinks that 10FPS at most is fully A OK...

#9 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 23 February 2013 - 07:35

I might have to reconsider my decision not to (pre)order this...

#10 spenser.d

spenser.d

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-December 03

Posted 23 February 2013 - 13:20

Hooray for tomb raider? Games should look better on high end PCs. Doesn't make them any less fun or value on consoles...

#11 AsherGZ

AsherGZ

    【=◈︿◈=】

  • Joined: 30-June 11
  • Location: Karachi, Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 820, 520

Posted 23 February 2013 - 14:00

What about those of us who have Intel HD4000 integrated graphics? :(

#12 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 23 February 2013 - 14:09

hmm, never played a tomb raider game before

i think it's time to get into a new series :)

#13 Setnom

Setnom

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-October 04
  • Location: Faro, Portugal

Posted 23 February 2013 - 14:19

I just hope the engine is well optimized. Some recent cases come to mind, like frame drops in AC3 and stuttering in Farcry 3.

#14 The Laughing Man

The Laughing Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-May 03
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan

Posted 23 February 2013 - 14:25

2 year old requirements?

#15 OP compl3x

compl3x

    Space coyote

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 24 February 2013 - 03:08

2 year old requirements?


They have to try to include as many PC gamers as possible. What are they going to do, make it accessible to people whose rig is <6 months old?