Photo

MacBook Pro (Retina or not) or Windows 8?

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 ACTIONpack

ACTIONpack

Graphic Designer

• Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925 (T-Mobile)

Posted 23 February 2013 - 18:42

I need to replace my MacBook Pro Late 2008 version. Got wet and I don't think it will work anymore. Hopefully, I can save my hard drive but anyway. I need to get a laptop for Monday for work. I'm a graphic designer/web designer and want to know if MacBook Pro Retina worth the money? I can't get the 18 months finerical plan they have but I can get the 6 month pay me back program they have. Which I can pay back in 6 months but with $3000 in taxes I need to pay I wish I can hold it off some. Anyway, I work and get pay every week. Money comes in between $450 to $700 a week. I do a lot of heavy graphics which is why I use a MacBook Pro. Is it worth the extra $400 for the Retina and SDD drive, higher GPU and ram?

Do you think I can just get a $1500 High End Windows 8 laptop? I do have a high end desktop with Windows 8 which does a great job but I need to take it to work everyday.

my laptop :-(

Posted Image

#2 illegaloperation

illegaloperation

Neowinian Senior

Posted 23 February 2013 - 18:48

I guess it depends on what you use it for. If you mostly use Dreamweaver, Fireworks, Photoshop, Flash, and Illustrator, then it doesn't matter much which laptop you buy (as long as it has reasonable processor, graphics and RAM).

#3 kraized

kraized

Slam Dunk My Funk!

Posted 23 February 2013 - 20:41

If you're a graphic designer then no doubt you'll be using Adobe Creative Suite. You might as well get a second hand Windows 7 notebook since CS doesn't use the Windows 8 interface. Personally, I would get a rMBP (since CS has been updated to take advantage of the Retina Display).

#4 illegaloperation

illegaloperation

Neowinian Senior

Posted 23 February 2013 - 20:59