Jump to content



Photo

How does Metro work?


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:33

How does metro work? Does it work in the same way as when you press alt+ctrl+delete in Windows to bring up the security screen thing? In other words, how does it operate in technical terms?


#2 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Way past cool.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:46

Wut.

#3 +BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:47

Not quite sure what you mean. You might want to be a little more specific and clear about your question.

#4 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:47

How does it work in Windows, does it work like the security screen when you press alt ctrl delete? I think my question was very clear and understandable

#5 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Way past cool.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:51

Still don't know what it is you're asking.

#6 dafin0

dafin0

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Location: Australia

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:53

How does it work in Windows, does it work like the security screen when you press alt ctrl delete? I think my question was very clear and understandable

yes it shows basically the same thing (different look) as the one in Windows 7/vista

#7 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:55

Ctrl+Alt+Del hotkey in both Windows 7 and 8 are there... but both screens are bit different.

Edit: Dangit, dafin beats me.

#8 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:55

So, it operates in the same technical manner as the security screen or the lock screen (Win key + L). For an example, when you press win key + lock, the screen appears immediately just like metro, it is always there?

#9 billyea

billyea

    Your Two Cents

  • Joined: 15-July 06
  • Location: Noitacol

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:56

I think he's asking how Metro was written as a whole other interface on top of Windows, and how the Shell instantiates it on startup. I think his analogy is to the Secure Desktop for login, which is a separate user interface handled by a separate (non-Explorer) process that takes over the display when you press Ctrl+Alt+Delete.

#10 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 15 March 2013 - 00:59

I think he's asking how Metro was written as a whole other interface on top of Windows, and how the Shell instantiates it on startup. I think his analogy is to the Secure Desktop for login, which is a separate user interface handled by a separate (non-Explorer) process that takes over the display when you press Ctrl+Alt+Delete.


Oh, I remember that, that was on Windows 2000 and/or Windows NT.

#11 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 15 March 2013 - 01:00

When I was first introduced to windows 8, I wondered how Metro would not eat more memory. So metro is apart of the Windows system. So, does Metro work in the same way as when you hit al ctrl delete in vista and beyond?

#12 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 15 March 2013 - 01:04

When I was first introduced to windows 8, I wondered how Metro would not eat more memory. So metro is apart of the Windows system.


The desktop is there but Metro is like Start Menu... And Metro apps allow you to view app in full screen... but you can not change to windowed version unless you have the desktop apps which can be viewed on your desktop.

#13 Matthew_Thepc

Matthew_Thepc

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-July 11
  • Location: San Jose, CA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 RTM

Posted 15 March 2013 - 01:16

I think (don't quote me on this) when Win8 was being announced they made it very clear that Metro wasn't a layer on top of Windows - it is Windows now, basically like replacing the "classic shell," but still keeping the Desktop there, but the desktop code is only loaded when the Desktop app is launched. Again, not completely sure, but I think it's more analogous to like the Windows Desktop and the command prompt or DOSBox, where the "stock Windows" is the Start Screen and the desktop is more there for older applications and applications that take advantage of the specific desktop-based Windows features. not a perfect analogy, but that's the best I could come up with :\

#14 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 15 March 2013 - 01:18

How does metro work?


:iiam:


http://www.amazon.co...words=Windows+8

Attached Images

  • win8.jpg


#15 billyea

billyea

    Your Two Cents

  • Joined: 15-July 06
  • Location: Noitacol

Posted 15 March 2013 - 01:22

When I was first introduced to windows 8, I wondered how Metro would not eat more memory. So metro is apart of the Windows system. So, does Metro work in the same way as when you hit al ctrl delete in vista and beyond?

While I'm not sure how Metro apps are represented in the system, I can say for certain that Windows is not instantiating a 'new desktop' like the Ctrl+Alt+Del Secure Desktop. You'll notice it doesn't flicker when going in and out of the Start Menu like it does if a UAC prompt (on the Secure Desktop) comes up.

If I were to guess, everything is still tied to explorer.exe and the Desktop Window Manager. You'll notice that if you kill that process, all Charms Bars, start screen, taskbars disappear. So I'm guessing they just rewrote explorer.exe to show the Start 'menu' first and the desktop later, Metro apps are Windows apps that use WinRT (as opposed to Win32) that draws to fullscreen Direct2D surfaces represented inside the Desktop Window Manager, like every other window.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!