Jump to content



Photo

Can't See Space or Format SSD


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Mrcookjr

Mrcookjr

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 07
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 26 March 2013 - 21:23

So I bought a new SSD, installed it, can see it in the BIOS, I can see it in disk management, but it won't let me format it or make partitions. I tried doing it through the command prompt but when I try to clean it in diskpart, it just hangs. Any help would be appriciated. It is disk 1.

Posted Image


#2 Lowdown

Lowdown

    Got Bass?? Tuba that is.

  • Joined: 06-December 01

Posted 26 March 2013 - 21:37

Have you gone to the companies website to see if there is a firmware update to the drive or a drive utility for it. I am not sure if this will help but I know there are still some SSD drives that are pretty picky about the latest firmware being used on the drive it seems like.

#3 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 26 March 2013 - 21:39

Have you tried initialising it? Try a linux live CD?
It's not showing any details about the drive.... You better hope it hasn't suicided.

#4 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 26 March 2013 - 21:41

Is this Windows 7 or 8 ?

#5 JJ_

JJ_

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-July 05

Posted 26 March 2013 - 22:45

Have you tried initialising it? Try a linux live CD?
It's not showing any details about the drive.... You better hope it hasn't suicided.


If disk management won't initialize a new SSD, I don't see how a linux live CD will help. Try switching a working SATA cable with the SSD

#6 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 26 March 2013 - 22:51

If disk management won't initialize a new SSD, I don't see how a linux live CD will help. Try switching a working SATA cable with the SSD

that's the thing though, the OP didn't mention if he tried to initialize it

@OP did you right click on Disk 1 and click Initialize? you can't make partitions or format until you initialize it

#7 JJ_

JJ_

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-July 05

Posted 26 March 2013 - 23:08

Bingo!

#8 OP Mrcookjr

Mrcookjr

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 07
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 27 March 2013 - 00:37

that's the thing though, the OP didn't mention if he tried to initialize it

@OP did you right click on Disk 1 and click Initialize? you can't make partitions or format until you initialize it


When I right-click it, I only get the option to Convert, or make it offline. Thanks for the quick effort everyone! Hope to get this fixed. :D

#9 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 27 March 2013 - 00:44

When I right-click it, I only get the option to Convert, or make it offline. Thanks for the quick effort everyone! Hope to get this fixed. :D

Your easiest bet is contacting the company directly, if it isn't something obvious like a firmware problem.